Wireless Access

last person joined: 19 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Windows 7 not processing GPO after wireless 802.1x authentication

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Windows 7 not processing GPO after wireless 802.1x authentication

Posted Nov 26, 2015 09:12 AM

Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to 802.1x authentication and Aruba. We've recently installed 40 new Aruba Instant Access Points 215..We have ClearPass 6.5 with RADIUS to our Microsoft Active Directory authentication. We have 2 VLANs and depending on the user account, the computers should be assigned to one of the two VLANs. 

Both user and machine authentication works as it should. ClearPass authenticates these correctly. On Mobile devices and other non-domain devices we have no problems. However, our Windows 7 laptops, which are part of the domain are behaving strangely. 

These Laptops don't seem to process the GPOs properly at login. We have the SSO Funktoionality for 802.1x Authentication conifgured and the devices also Authenticate themselves before starting the Windows Login process. However Users who login at a computer without a cached profile will not get their profile properly. The user will be logged in with a local profile and no folder redirections or network drive maps. 

After restarting and logging in again 2-4 times, the profile ist loaded and the folder redirections and maps are made. However if you log out and log in with another account or the same account again, the folder redirection and maps don't work.