Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

firmware upgrade suggestion

This thread has been viewed 15 times
  • 1.  firmware upgrade suggestion

Posted Jan 02, 2020 05:26 AM

Hi all,

I want to upgrade firmware to 8.x for APs and there have AP-215 and AP-315 models here. now the controller Aruba 7010-RW firmware version is : 6.5.4.15

Would you please recommend me which AP ArubaOS is better with version 8.x?

I am new in Aruba , possible my description is not clear, please explain directly. thanks a lot!

rgds,

Andrew Chan

• 2.  RE: firmware upgrade suggestion

MVP EXPERT
    Posted Jan 02, 2020 05:35 AM

You can upgrade to the latest AOS8.x however as part of the upgrade process you will need to factory reset the controller.

At the time of writing the latest AOS8.x release will support your APs.

https://www.arubanetworks.com/en-gb/support-services/end-of-life/

Within the AOS8.x upgrades, there is two "standards" of firmware. Either a Conservative Release (CR) or a Standard Release (SR).

The Conservative Release tag signifies a release has been deployed in multiple customer production networks. Conservative Releases can be considered as the “gold standard” or “go to” releases within the Aruba WLAN portfolio. Aruba recommends the adoption of Conservative Releases in any customer’s production network.

The Standard Release tag signifies a release introducing significant new software features and/or hardware platforms. Any customer interested in benefiting from new software features or hardware platforms are encouraged to upgrade to a Standard Release. Standard Releases always complete a thorough quality assurance and test cycle before posting and becoming available to all customers. After adoption by multiple customers, Standard Releases may be “promoted” to Conservative Releases.