Controllerless Networks

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Virtual Controller Captive Portal SSL Certificate Options

This thread has been viewed 89 times
  • 1.  Virtual Controller Captive Portal SSL Certificate Options

Posted Dec 22, 2016 07:48 PM

Hi eveyrone, I am new to SSL Certifications with Aruba and particularly with the Captive Portal.  My customer's Default SSL Cert has expired and we are looking at either a Self Signed Cert or a Cert from a CA.  My first question is they my customer has generated a CSR from www.getcert.com.   They know have 4 files

1. Private key : guestaccess.com-2016-12-22-120739.pkey
    2. Certificate request (.csr): guestaccess.com-2016-12-22-120739.csr
    3. Public key(.cer) : guestaccess.com-2016-12-22-120739.cer
    4. Entire certificate (pkcs12) : guestaccess.com-2016-12-22-120739.p12.

From here I am a little confused as what to do if they just want to import a self signed certificate to the Virtual Controller.   Do i need to combine the private key and the public key?  one instruction i read is to rename the .p12 file to .pem and import it.   Any suggestions would be extremely helpful.   They still may go the more secure route with a public cert but I want to cover both options. 

• 2.  RE: Virtual Controller Captive Portal SSL Certificate Options

• 3.  RE: Virtual Controller Captive Portal SSL Certificate Options

Posted Dec 22, 2016 08:13 PM

Thanks yea i have read it several times.  It has a link on creating a CSR and using that combined with a Public Signed cert , but I have not been able to find instructions specifically to importing a Self-Signed Certificate and what to do after the CSR has been created.    I have 4 files but not sure which or what files to import and/or combine.  Hope that makes sense.  :)