Controllerless Networks

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Please I need help with AP-205 and Controller

This thread has been viewed 39 times
  • 1.  Please I need help with AP-205 and Controller

Posted May 02, 2022 10:08 AM
    Hello, I am new to buying aruba equipment.

Recently my boss bought some model APIN0205 aruba antennas. The model that needs a controller

He bought them without knowing that this equipment was needed.

My question is, is there a way to install a driver on a computer without having to buy a subscription?

Another question, I saw a controller on ebay model Aruba 620. I know it's an old model, but can I use it to configure the APs? Do I need anything else to configure them? A subscription also to be able to use it?

I am very lost with these devices and the aruba phone support really doesn't help much.

Thank you!.

------------------------------
    Daniel Ladeda

• 2.  RE: Please I need help with AP-205 and Controller

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 02, 2022 11:42 AM
    An AP-205 access point indeed requires the use of a controller.
    The 620 controller could be used, but it's indeed quite old, and to only ArobaOS code branch to support both 620 and AP-205 is 6.4, which is quite old as well, and no longer supported in case of issues.
    You will need to purchase AP capacity licenses on that controller as well.

Onno Harms

• 3.  RE: Please I need help with AP-205 and Controller

Posted May 03, 2022 03:10 PM
    The datasheet for the 200 series of APs says that they can be used as Instant (controller-less) APs - so couldn't the OP could use them without a controller ? 

https://www.arubanetworks.com/assets/ds/DS_AP200Series.pdf

------------------------------------------------------------

• 4.  RE: Please I need help with AP-205 and Controller

EMPLOYEE