Comware

View Only
last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Expand all | Collapse all

4 slots IRF : only one management IP working (5700 FlexFabric)

This thread has been viewed 15 times
  • 1.  4 slots IRF : only one management IP working (5700 FlexFabric)

Posted Nov 17, 2022 12:05 PM
    Hello,
    I'm an absolute network newbie (got in charge of managing this...), and trying to cope with the following issue :

In a 4 slots IRF cluster, each management port (rear view of each switch) is linked to a dedicated switch.
    The setup is as follow :

interface M-GigabitEthernet0/0/0
    ip address 10.100.3.10 255.255.255.0
     mad bfd enable
     mad ip address 10.100.3.11 255.255.255.0 member 1
     mad ip address 10.100.3.12 255.255.255.0 member 2
     mad ip address 10.100.3.13 255.255.255.0 member 3
     mad ip address 10.100.3.14 255.255.255.0 member 4

As I understand this, 10.100.3.10 is a floating virtual ip, moving along the elections and life and death of each slot. Whatever happening to the slots, we always can ping this virtual ip, so it is cool but it is not the point of this post.

I'd like to be able to ping (and ssh-access) every slot by its ip. But so far, only 10.100.3.11 is reachable, which I don't understand as nothing special is configured especially for this ip, neither for its physically linked port.

To be honest, I don't even know why it's even needed to use mad to setup individual management IPs?

Following the docs, I should be able to use :
    system-view
    interface M-GigabitEthernet1/0/0
    then set up the ip

But I'm getting :
    [xxxxxx]interface M-GigabitEthernet1/0/0
    ^
    % Wrong parameter found at '^' position.

So I guess I'm missing something in this setup.

Is it at least even possible to setup individual ip for each management port of each slot?

Thank you for your hints.

Nicolas

• 2.  RE: 4 slots IRF : only one management IP working (5700 FlexFabric)

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 17, 2022 01:00 PM

Hi Nicolas,