last person joined: yesterday 

Expand all | Collapse all

API X-CSRF-Token

This thread has been viewed 27 times
  • 1.  API X-CSRF-Token

Posted Mar 18, 2024 07:44 AM

AOS 8.10.0.10 Conductor and clusters

Hello,

I'm not a programmer but use the API to do a few tasks. I noticed that here https://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_87_Web_Help/Content/nbapiguide/prerequisites.htm it says:

"Starting from ArubaOS 8.7.0.0, UIDARUBA is deprecated. The X-CSRF-Token will be used in the header. The UIDARUBA is still available for backward compatibility with older ArubaOS firmware versions."

I have always used UIDARUBA up til now, but thought I should start updating my scripts to use X-CSRF-Token. I was hoping I could just parse X-CSRF-Token from the login request (instead of UIDARUBA) and then add that to the header of my next request instead of the UIDARUBA token, but I keep getting 401 unauthorised.

I seem to be getting the token itself fine, but then my next request fails:

url = f"https://{mc}:4343/v1/configuration/object/reload"
                body = {
                    "force": True
                }
                querystring = {"config_path": "/md"}   # UIDARUBA deprecated (removed from querystring) , switched to X-CSRF-Token 18/03/2024
                headers = {
                    "Content-Type": "application/json",
                    "Accept" : "application/json",
                    "Cookie" : f"SESSION={uid}",
                    "X-CSRF-Token" : f"{uid}"
                    }
                response = requests.request("POST", url, json=body, headers=headers, verify=False, params=querystring)

What am I doing wrong here? I'm also not really sure what "Cookie" does but I've always included it, I must have got it from some documentation at some point. It was previously set to the UIDARUBA, but now 'uid' is the X-CSRF-Token.

• 2.  RE: API X-CSRF-Token

MVP GURU
    Posted Mar 18, 2024 09:37 AM

Hi cauliflower

I always use uidaruba....