View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Expand all | Collapse all

Captive portal issue DVE-2018-0001

This thread has been viewed 14 times
  • 1.  Captive portal issue DVE-2018-0001

Posted Mar 24, 2023 10:38 AM

Hello!

I have tried to search support case for mishandling of DNS request in captive portal mode. It were reported publicly as defect DVE-2018-0001. I work as a Software Engineer at Red Hat and were looking for a way to remove workaround implemented in systemd-resolved on Linux systems. But first I wanted to check whether such issue were reported to responsible vendor, which is some Aruba network device. Unfortunately I have no idea what the device offering this broken service is. Some details are on Ubuntu bug.

Its DNS communication is clearly broken and response does not follow RFC 6891: Extension Mechanisms for DNS (EDNS(0)). It does not follow even original RFC 1035. Working around such brokenes on side of systemd-resolved (or any other DNS cache) is wrong. It should be fixed on the devices.

However I got stuck in corporate hell on Aruba support. It seems I am unable to query support in any way to ask whether this defect has known identifier. And whether it was fixed already in existing software. Not without having customer identificators.

Could you please help me finding any indication this has been solved? Ideally a public link, which could be added to github issue as a pointer where it was fixed. I were unable to find it.

------------------------------
    Petr Menšík
    Software Engineer @ Red Hat

• 2.  RE: Captive portal issue DVE-2018-0001
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 29, 2023 04:23 AM

This issue seems addressed in ArubaOS 8.6.0.17: AOS-222843: