Wireless Access

View Only
last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Clear Pass Corp_User login LDAP

This thread has been viewed 80 times
  • 1.  Clear Pass Corp_User login LDAP

Posted Nov 14, 2022 12:36 PM
    I am new to Arruba, my customer has asked me to set up an SSID user company. The client has a Cisco WLC and clear pass, and they want these users to log in using their LDAP credentials.

My configuration is attached. I want to know if it's accurate.

I can't access LDAP because it is managed by other individuals, therefore I imagine I would have to see if there is a corp user.

PICPICKSHAPE

• 2.  RE: Clear Pass Corp_User login LDAP

MVP EXPERT
    Posted Nov 14, 2022 02:11 PM
    Hi Athan,

You can configure LDAP under Configuration > Authentication > Sources.

When using username/password (EAP-PEAP MSCHAPv2) as authentication method your ClearPass must be AD Joined. Noted that this authentication method is pretty unsecure and can easily leak AD Credentials to the public, therefore login with AD username/password is not recommended.

When using certificate based (EAP-TLS) as authentication method your ClearPass not need to be AD Joined to lookup the Active Directory over LDAP (or better LDAP over TLS (port636)). This method is the most secure deployment and can be done at computer of user based certificates. You need to enroll the certifcates to your clients by using a MDM, Intune or GPO.

For both EAP-PEAP or EAP-TLS you need to configure RADIUS on the wlan controller and ClearPass to exchange the EAP messages.

------------------------------
    Marcel Koedijk | MVP Expert 2022 | ACEP | ACMP | ACCP | ACDP | Ekahau ECSE | Not an HPE Employee | Opinions are my own

• 3.  RE: Clear Pass Corp_User login LDAP

Posted Nov 15, 2022 12:16 PM
    Thank you for responding.