Wired Intelligent Edge

View Only
last person joined: 23 hours ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Designing a collapsed spine/leaf design with 4 switches

This thread has been viewed 26 times
  • 1.  Designing a collapsed spine/leaf design with 4 switches

Posted Feb 22, 2024 09:21 AM

Hello,

Seeking advice from the group as I am quite new to Aruba (but with extensive Data Center design with Cisco/Juniper/Arista). 

The customer is refreshing the DCs, currently, they are using a collapsed core for both campus and DC. 

The campus side is undergoing a refresh with several CX stacks for WiFi and Wired connectivity. Now I am working on displacing the 4 x core Cisco Nexus 5K. 

There are 2 comms rooms with only several hundred metres apart so I won't consider them as cross-site.  Then I am thinking of proposing a collapsed spine/leaf EVPN-VXLAN design with 2 switches in each comms room.  Given the small scale, 2 x 48 ports as a collapsed spine/leaf would be good enough for each comms room.

The question is, can I cross-connect the 4 switches and make them as spine/leaf as well as border leaf (connect external networks)?  

If it does, can I leverage Aruba Central to manage this network?  And what role should I config the switch to? 

Thanks in advance. 

• 2.  RE: Designing a collapsed spine/leaf design with 4 switches

Posted Feb 23, 2024 01:27 AM

Hi

Thanks for reaching out. This question is indeed very interesting. When it comes to network design, most often, there is no right or wrong. However, there may be better or worse ways how to design your network depending on the point of view, the budget, and the design goals.