View Only
last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Expand all | Collapse all

InterVLAN routing help

This thread has been viewed 32 times
  • 1.  InterVLAN routing help

Posted Jun 27, 2022 11:40 PM
    Hello all,

I'm new to VLAN world and looking for some help with inter VLAN routing.

I have a HP e3800 switch, which has a few VLANs setup:
    VLAN10 10.10.10.10 /24
    VLAN20 10.10.20.10 /24
    VLAN30 10.10.30.10 /24
    VLAN40 10.10.40.10 /24
    VLAN50 10.10.50.10 /24
    VLAN60 10.10.60.10 /24
    VLAN90 10.10.90.10 /24​

We'll use .10.0 /24 as the 'management' network, while the other VLANs will have various class of endpoints.

This switch is connected, via LACP trunk, to a firewall which is the default (internet) gateway.
    I'd like to understand how to configure the switch for inter VLAN routing and also the LACP trunk to the firewall.
    The switch can also be the DHCP server.

We also have a couple of HP 1820 access switches which will be connected to the e3800 via LACP trunks; these switches is where most endpoints will connect to.
    So I need to understand how to configure the LACP trunk between e3800 and the 1820 access switches.

I have done some basic setup on the e3800 - creating VLAN interfaces and assigning IPs.

Your assistance is greatly appreciated! Thank you kindly.

• 2.  RE: InterVLAN routing help

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jul 07, 2022 04:23 AM
    Hi ITSubs,

to enable inter-vlan routing on your 3800 switch you can simply add the "ip routing" command. 

As for the trunks between the 18XX and 3800 switches you need to pick appropriate interfaces to have matching speeds, if you are going to use SFPs or DACs these have to be supported by the switches etc.
    For the configuration you would have to use the Web GUI on the 18XX switches, because these are web managed devices. The 3800 can be configured either via CLI or Web GUI.