last person joined: 2 days ago 

Expand all | Collapse all

Managing an IAP whilst wifi uplink is configured

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Managing an IAP whilst wifi uplink is configured

Posted 8 days ago

Hi everyone :)

My first post here, exciting!

I'm relatively new to Aruba, so I'll start with an apology ref my terminology etc, but hopefully what I'm trying articulate is clear.

I have a scenario wherein a number of PCs, without wireless cards (and cannot have wireless cards fitted), need to communicate with a device with a built in access point.

IE 

PC X ----ethernet port----ethernet switch----           want to get over here ->                  client broadcasting SSID X

I've managed to, on the face of it, achieve the initial goal by installing a 505 operating as an IAP and specifically enabled the wifi uplink, entering the details for the upstream AP and then bridging the traffic onto the ethernet interface, which is in turn connected to the same ethernet switch above into the same vlan as PC X

IE

PC X ----ethernet port----ethernet switch vlan X----IAP505 with wifi uplink and traffic bridged to eth0 <------->client broadcasting SSID X

The upshot is that PC X can now successfully talk to the client. Win.

However ....