Security

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

OCSP certificate revocation

This thread has been viewed 22 times
  • 1.  OCSP certificate revocation

Posted May 17, 2023 05:41 AM

Hello,

I am working on a new network design for a company (I am a student and currently in my internship). We want to create one SSID for BYOD and Corp devices to connect to. Currently, we have two (One for BYOD and one for Corp). The SSID for BYOD is a SSID that provides internet-only access to the devices that connect to the SSID, and the corp SSID provides more access than internet-only to domain/managed devices.

So we want to combine these to SSID into one SSID where if a BYOD device connects using PEAP-MSCHAPv2, it gets a provisioning role and gets a certificate after successful provisioning to log in with and still get internet-only access. And for managed devices (currently connecting using PEAP-MSCHAPv2, but we are going to change it, so they all have certificates to connect with) get access to the internal network when they successfully authenticate on the network.

I have been watching the workshop video's about Onboarding from the Airheads Broadcasting channel on Youtube and came along this video; "Aruba ClearPass Workshop - Onboard #5 - OCSP and certificate revocation - YouTube". Herman stated that 'you might want to use different services for certificate revocation for the AD user certificates and OnBoarding certificates'. How does this work and is it possible to combine this into one service instead of using two services?

I have two more questions about how we want to configure the 'new' network;
    1. I can't find any benefits of using dual SSID for onboarding instead of using a single SSID, are there benefits of using dual SSID instead of one?