Community Feedback

View Only
last person joined: 3 days ago 

How is the community doing? Do you have any questions or feedback related for the Airheads Community team? This is the place to let us know.
Expand all | Collapse all

Sending back information with DUR's

This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  Sending back information with DUR's

Posted Apr 04, 2023 10:35 AM

Hello everyone,

I am a student and currently working on a IT infrastructure for a company. I have a question about the DUR's (Downloadable User Roles) that you can use to send back information to a switch or access point. I know that you can send back information about, for example, Vlan id / name. But is it also possible to send back information to a switch like; ip-helper or a dns-server?

What I want to achieve, is that when a client is connecting to a switch, that clearpass sends back all the information needed for the port. (Vlan id; IP-helper; DNS-server; etc).

So my question is: Is it possible to send back information like ip helper-address x.x.x.x (For DHCP) and dns-server x.x.x.x?

kind regards,

Jeffrey Mik

• 2.  RE: Sending back information with DUR's
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 04, 2023 11:51 AM

No, ip-helpers are configured on the VLAN, not on the port or authenticated user.
    The DNS server for the switch itself is a global setting for the switch, and the DNS server for the user is normally delivered through DHCP (and the ip-helper just covered) based on the VLAN that a client is placed in (which can be DUR). The switch or ClearPass don't have anything to do with that.

------------------------------
    Herman Robers
    ------------------------
    If you have urgent issues, always contact your Aruba partner, distributor, or Aruba TAC Support. Check https://www.arubanetworks.com/support-services/contact-support/ for how to contact Aruba TAC. Any opinions expressed here are solely my own and not necessarily that of Hewlett Packard Enterprise or Aruba Networks.