Controllerless Networks

View Only
last person joined: yesterday 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Trying to setup an APIN0225 and can't get the lights to flash green/amber

This thread has been viewed 21 times
  • 1.  Trying to setup an APIN0225 and can't get the lights to flash green/amber

Posted Feb 26, 2024 08:47 AM

I'm new to the world of Aruba kit, so please forgive me high ignorance level!

• I have an APIN0225 access point.

• I've connected it to Ethernet using the ETH0 port

• I've factory reset it by holding a paperclip in the reset hole, connecting the 12V supply and waiting for 10seconds.

• Next I've launched the Aruba Instant On app from the Play Store and begun to setup a new site.

• The app tells me that the AP needs to be discoverable "lights alternating between green and amber"

• All I seem to achieve is the PWR LED flashing green along with ETH0...presumably indicating LAN traffic in its case.

• I don't have any controller setup, I purely want to create an access point between WiFi and the wired LAN.

Does anyone have any thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks

• 2.  RE: Trying to setup an APIN0225 and can't get the lights to flash green/amber

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 26, 2024 08:53 AM

APIN0225 can be many different devices. Please check for a sticker on the back with either AP-225 or IAP-225-RW (or -US).

If you have an AP-225 sticker on the back you will need a separate controller to operate this AP, in which case it's probably not worth for home use.

If you have an IAP-225-xx model, you can operate it without a controller, and by using the reset button you can probably bring the AP back in factory default and you should be able to see an instant-ap or SetMeUp-xx:xx network after a while that can get you started.

If the sticker is removed, assume it's an AP-225.