Aruba Apps

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Aruba Utilities android app errors

[ Edited ]

I have an Aruba RAP109 and the android app and I keep getting parse errors when I run cmd like CPU usage,etc..<br><br>

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

I suspect Aruba Utilities is intended for use with our Controller platforms and not Instant.  I am basing that on the fact that it is trying to run commands that apply to controllers but don't exist in the IAP CLI.  For example "no paging" does not exist in IAP but does on a controller.

 

I will see if I can verify if testing has been done for Utilities and Instant and will report back...........................................

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

Yeah that does sound wierd.... Thanks for looking into it ;-)

Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

I got the word from the developer.  Utilities was indeed developed with the Controllers in mind and no thought or testing was done for Instant.   That being said, if you ignore the parsing errors, the utility should work fine with IAP. 

 

He will look at adding IAP; however, if it appears I suspect it would be some time...........

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

Thought so.. Thanks for clearing the air (pun intended) on this!!

Thanks also for passing the suggestion to the devs!!
MVP
Posts: 721
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

I'll chime in to say that I've been using the app in both controller and iAP settings, and find it quite useful in both.

(excepting having to ignre the parsing errors)

 

--Matthew

if I've helped, please give kudos
if I've provided a solution, please mark the solution so others can find it
Aruba
Posts: 1,377
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

For anyone looking for this, please see this link to the app directly:

 

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.arubanetworks.arubautilities&hl=en

 

It is an awesome app!!!

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

I like it as well! :)

Aruba
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

[ Edited ]

It's good to hear people are using the app and finding it useful.  The Google Play Store says there are over 9,000 net downloads to date.

 

I know the developer quite well ;-) , and he's very easy to reach and eager to please: email to ctodeveloper.arubanetworks@gmail.com or post here and he will pick up on it.   If you have any suggestions or bug reports, please send them in:  it doesn't take long to code up most of these ideas and turn around a special build:  in fact, that's one of the most rewarding things about app development, it can be very fast and responsive.

 

And I'm always looking for Beta testers:  get a Google+ id and join the community here  https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/100638199649434481720

 

This is what the Handover tab looks like in the latest Beta version with OUI interpretation:

 

 

2014-06-21-GalaxyS4_HandoverTab_OUIs3.png



 

As for Instant, it's something that I've overlooked so far:  I'll check into what's needed to make it work properly, but I think for now if you ignore the errors the Controller tab should be functional:  once it is logged in, it just executes what you write in the text box.

 

Best,

Peter T

 

Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Re: Aruba Utilities android app errors

[ Edited ]

Oh Cool! I'd love to beta test but the link 404ed :(

 

I think it would be awesome to have better ISP and RAP support with the app!

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: