Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

How can I turn AP to IAP

Hi All,

 

How can I upgrade AP to IAP, can I upgrade it using apboot menu ?

 

apboot> ?
? - alias for 'help'
boot - boot the OS image
clear - clear the OS image or other information
dhcp - invoke DHCP client to obtain IP/boot params
factory_reset - reset to factory defaults
help - print online help
mfginfo - show manufacturing info
osinfo - show the OS image version(s)
ping - send ICMP ECHO_REQUEST to network host
printenv - print environment variables
purgeenv - restore default environment variables
reset - Perform RESET of the CPU
saveenv - save environment variables to persistent storage
setenv - set environment variables
tftpboot - boot image via network using TFTP protocol
upgrade - upgrade the APBoot or OS image
version - display version
apboot>

MVP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎07-12-2012

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

a RAP is not convertible to iAP but the other way it's possible.

If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

Unit is originaly IAP-92, I want to turn back to IAP-92 again. There is nothing to do with RAP. 

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

There should be a small hole on the bottom.  Stick a paper clip in there, power up, and wait until the power LED flashes quickly.  That will convert it back

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
MVP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎07-12-2012

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP


emrekoca wrote:

Unit is originaly IAP-92, I want to turn back to IAP-92 again. There is nothing to do with RAP. 


use the purgeenv command the sequence would be as follows : 

 

purgeenv

saveenv

boot

If you found my post helpful, please give kudos!
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

"There should be a small hole on the bottom.  Stick a paper clip in there, power up, and wait until the power LED flashes quickly.  That will convert it back"

 

I tried that, did not work.

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

call support!
Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Aruba
Posts: 1,644
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP


emrekoca wrote:

"There should be a small hole on the bottom.  Stick a paper clip in there, power up, and wait until the power LED flashes quickly.

I tried that, did not work.


Try it again; make sure you hold the paperclip in there while powering up for at least 5 seconds before releasing th reset button.  See the diagram and instructions below.   If it doesn't work, call support as Seth suggests.

 

iap92-reset.png

------------------------------------------------
Systems Engineer, Northeast USA
ACCX | ACDX | ACMX

Super Contributor I
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎12-01-2010

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

You can console in to the AP and reset the AP using the reset button at the same time, you can see the boot sequence and if it had cleared the config.

Normal Guy
Aruba Employee
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎07-14-2013

Re: How can I turn AP to IAP

If factory reset is not working, please share the following info from APBOOT:

Output of ?printenv'
Output of ?mfginfo?
Output of ?osinfo?

Also, another way of doing factory reset is the command ?factory_reset? in APBOOT.

However, I recommend against performing upgrade in APBOOT without clear instructions from Aruba.

Thanks,

Yan
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: