Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-03-2016

How to set up an Aruba AP 225 as Standalone AP(normal AP)

I an newbie here and to this domain. I have an Aruba AP 225. I want to configure this AP as normal AP and wanted to set up captive portal with customized login page or default login page.

 

What i have tried so far: I have converted the AP to standalone mode and configured Guest and Other network with static IP. SSID is broadcasting, however none of the device(eg: mobile) fails to connect(stuck in Obtaining IP address).

 

I have connected my ethernet to ETH1 and configured the AP using the same.

Guru Elite
Posts: 19,964
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to set up an Aruba AP 225 as Standalone AP(normal AP)

[ Edited ]

If you are setting up a Guest Network on an IAP, make sure the Network is "Virtual Controller Assigned".  That will use the IAPs internal DHCP server and source-nat the guest traffic out of the IAP.

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Validated Reference Design Guides : http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Validated-Reference-Design/tkb-p/Aruba-VRDs
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-03-2016

Re: How to set up an Aruba AP 225 as Standalone AP(normal AP)

Below are my Guest settings,

Name:
Lab_Guest
Status:
Enabled
Band:
All
Type:
Guest
IP assignment:
By Virtual Controller
Access:
Unrestricted
CALEA:
Disabled
Security level:
 Open

Test Nework:

Name:
Test_Network
Status:
Enabled
Band:
All
Type:
Employee
IP assignment:
Default VLAN
Access:
Unrestricted
CALEA:
Disabled
Security level:
 Personal

In Both the above AP's, i'm not able to connect. However, when i try to connect my client details are displayed for the respective networks.

 

Note: Both networks are in same AP. AP is set static.

 

Kindly let me know what i'm missing here.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-03-2016

Re: How to set up an Aruba AP 225 as Standalone AP(normal AP)

[ Edited ]
Please find my configuration
Name: Instant - CXXXXXX
Country Code: US
Virtual Controller IP: 192.168.xx.xx
Airwave server: --
Airwave back up server: --
Airwave prov backup: --
Band: All
Master: 192.168.xx. xx
Open DNS status: Not connected
MAS integration: Disabled
Uplink type: Wifi-sta
Uplink status: probe
Auto Save: Enabled.
 
I have 2 Networks configured in 1 Access point.
Access point config:

Name:

IP Address:

192.168.xx

Mode:

Access

Spectrum:

Disabled

Clients:

1

Type:

225

CPU utilization:

5%

Memory free:

433 MB

Serial number:


MAC:


 
Goto System...
General tab:
Virtual Controller IP: 192.168.xx
DHCP Tab: none(No values given)
Uplink Tab:
Under WiFi, SSID: Aruba
Passphrase:*********
Under Managemetn, Enforce uplink: Wifi
 
Aruba AP Config:

Name:

Aruba

Status:

Enabled

Band:

All

Type:

Employee

IP assignment:

1

Access:

Unrestricted

CALEA:

Disabled

Security level:

Personal
 
Guest config:

Name:

Aruba_Guest

Status:

Enabled

Band:

All

Type:

Guest

IP assignment:

By Virtual Controller

Access:

Unrestricted

CALEA:

Disabled

Security level:

Open
 
All the aobve config done through ENET1
Aruba Employee
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-10-2015

Re: How to set up an Aruba AP 225 as Standalone AP(normal AP)

can u connect IAP on eth0?

Is IAP itself getting an IP?

The symptom of not obtaining an IP, is it consistent on both SSIDs, employee & guest?

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-03-2016

Re: How to set up an Aruba AP 225 as Standalone AP(normal AP)

[ Edited ]
Connecting Ethernet to enet0 solves this problem
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: