Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Local DHCP Scope

Hi all,

I have created one SSID with "Client IP Assignment = Virtual Controller assigned" and "Client VLAN Configuration = Custom"; I have assigned the DHCP LOCAL Pool 101 dedicated on VLAN 101 (92.168.101/24).

If a client connect to this SSID it doesn't obtain an IP address; it only works fine if I create the VLAN 101 on the switch and tag it on the interface where my IAP is connected.

 

I would know if this is the normal behaviour or if normally the VLAN doesn't have to propagate on the LAN.

 

The firmware version on my IAP is 6.4.2.3-4.1.1.2_48114

 

Thanks,

Massimo

 

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
MVP
Posts: 4,174
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Local DHCP Scope

Try using network assign and use a static VLAN assignment of VLAN 101 and see if that works
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: Local DHCP Scope

I have just tried your suggestion, but if i make this change and then watch again the configuration of my SSID, it is not changed: Client IP Assignment = Virtual Controller assigned" and "Client VLAN Configuration = Custom (POOL 101)".

It seems like the IAP doesn't see any difference between the two configurations.

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
MVP
Posts: 4,174
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Local DHCP Scope

It will do that after you apply the change.

I tried it in my lab and it worked.

Are you allowing DHCP in the access rules ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,174
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Local DHCP Scope

[ Edited ]

EDIT: You already stated the version of IAP

 

I am using the same version

 

2015-02-02 11_51_23-Instant.png

 

2015-02-02 11_52_03-Instant.png

 

2015-02-02 11_52_43-Instant.png

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎01-31-2013

Re: Local DHCP Scope

Thanks Victor! Yes, this is my same configuration...... but my clients obtain a correct IP address only if I tag the VLAN101 on the switch interface. I tried this many times.

My IAP is 103.

 

My access rule is PERMIT ALL

------------------------------------------------------------
Massimo Gallina
Telecommunications engineer - ACMP2013
MVP
Posts: 4,174
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Local DHCP Scope

Interesting.

You shouldn't have to add that VLAN to your wired profile since this VLAN will be handled internally by the IAP VC

You may need to open a TAC case.
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-28-2015

Re: Local DHCP Scope

Hello,

I have same issue like Massimo.

Local dhcp and virtual controller  managed IP assigment works after tagging wired port on switch. If you try to connect to access point that is not VC and you don't tag APs wired port it dosn't work.

Without tagging port on switch if client connect to AP that is not VC can't find DHCP server in VLAN 101. Is it correct behaviour?? 

 

Rafal

Contributor I
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-25-2010

Re: Local DHCP Scope

Same thing here. Just starting to try and start up a group of Instant AP's (ideally want to use zones and VLANs etc) and unless I'm connecting to the AP that is elected as the VC the local DHCP doesn't work (can't obtain an IP). Do I really need to use an outside DHCP for this somehow. I want the SSID's to be on NAT'ed local VLAN's (actually I wish I could do VLAN pools like with the classic controller model) but apparently this doesn't work with Instant even though it sure seems like it is designed that way. I mean, if you are going to setup all that DHCP functionality shouldn't it work on any AP? So, what are we missing? Steve
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-28-2015

Re: Local DHCP Scope

I spoke with one of colegue and he adviced to use "bulti in" dhcp settings that use magic vlan 3333

IAP_DHCP.png

 

With that configuration everyhing works fine without tagging port on switch. 

Only limitation of that is that you can't use multiple scope for different SSID and different vlans.

Rafal

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: