Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

We have a cluster at a school campus that has a access point that won't  give up being VC.

 

If we unplug it users can no longer connect to the network even though the APs are still up and broadcasting.

 

Eventually another AP becomes the VC and user can connect.

 

If we plug the original AP it takes over as VC again.

 

This should not happen. The new VC should stay the VC unless is 

 

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

Take that VC and factory default it (paper clip reset button on bottom of AP).  Then re-connect it to the cluster.

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

Did that.  previously. 

 

Should have put that in my initial post.

EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

-What model AP is this?

-What version of SW?

-Any chance that you are connecting to a downlink port (E1,E2,E3,E4) rather than the uplink port (E0).  If you were connecting to a downlink port this is expected behavior as an IAP with multiple ports has a higher VC priority and if connected to a downlink port the group assumes the IAP with the downlink port connected is the gateway.

-Can you get the console output from this AP when powering up?  Do you see anything interesting like the following:

 

OOPS. someone else thinks hes the master too

I am MASTER. recv-ed a master normal-beacon.

(00:01:50) !!! Win the master election

 


Sorry....................more questions than answers .

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

105s. 3.2, then 3.3, now 3.4
EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
Moderator
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎04-16-2009

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

Well, my theory does not apply given that this is a 105.  

 

If you can, capture the console output of this IAP on bootup, the output of show-tech, then open a case with TAC for debugging.

 

It isn't running in "Standalone Mode" is it?

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

Nope. Checked that.
EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Re: Stubborn, "Sticky" VC

Marcus, I'm leaning towards thinking this is a bug in 3.4.

We downgraded yesterday and pulled the plug on the VC this morning. Another VC was elected. We plugged in the AP and it did not become the VC.

Go to 3.4 do the exact same thing and the AP always stays the VC. Users can't even connect anymore when the VC is unplugged.

Roll back to 3.3 and we're good.

Don't know if anyone else is experiencing this, but seems pretty conclusive.
EDDIE FORERO | @HeyEddie
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: