Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2014

Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Hi guys,

 

When I connect my laptop to a SSID I set up on my Aruba network (currently consists of 2 APs, with a virtual controller shared between them), it successfully connects to the SSID but picks up the following IP:

 

169.254.226.183

 

My network consists of a Windows DC, acting as the DHCP server connected to a Cisco POE switch.  Both the APs are connected to the same POE switch.  

 

- All devices are on the same VLAN

- I've already configured options 43 and 60 in the Scope Options as per the guide here - http://community.arubanetworks.com/aruba/attachments/aruba/115/3411/1/DHCP_Microsoft_Option43-v1.1.pdf

- All devices have been statically assigned IPs and have entries registered in DNS (including the Aruba virtual controller)

- If I connect the laptop with an ethernet cable directly to the switch, it picks up a dynamically assigned IP on the correct VLAN

 

I'm racking my brains as to why my laptop can't see the DHCP server when on the WiFI.

 

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks,

Liam

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,447
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Are you blocking anything in the user-role?

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2014

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Hi Tim,

 

Do  you mean in Security > Users for Internal Server?  If so, no, nothing is listed there.  If not, can you explain where you mean?  I'm fairly new to Aruba APs so will need a little hand-holding.

 

Thanks,

Liam

MVP
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎08-27-2012

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Have you statically set the VLAN or chosen virtual Cobtroller assigned during the ssid setup? Also, what's the switch port config look like vlan wise.
ACDX #419 | ACMP |
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2014

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Hi.

 

Niether, I chose "Network assigned" during the SSID setup, hoping this would pick up another DHCP server on the network.

 

As regards to the switch, all GigabitEthernet ports are on VLAN100.  The Windows DHCP server is connected to port 1, the Aruba APs are plugged into ports 13 and 14, respectively.

 

Here's the switch port config I think you're after, with unused ports removed from the list:

 

Interface                     IP-Address        OK?         Method Status           Protocol

Vlan100                      10.60.100.12    YES          manual up                  up      

FastEthernet0             unassigned      YES          manual down              down    

GigabitEthernet0/1      unassigned      YES           unset  up                    up       

GigabitEthernet0/13    unassigned      YES          unset  up                    up      

GigabitEthernet0/14    unassigned      YES          unset  up                    up       

 

Please let me know if this is not the info you were hoping for.

 

Thanks,

Liam

MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Did you create an Dhcp relay on the IAP pointing your Dchp server ?
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2014

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Possibly not.  How do I do that from the webgui?  I can't see any obvious options from the various menus.

 

- Liam

MVP
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

2014-10-20 12_58_24-Instant.png

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-12-2014

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

I've recently started have kind of the same issue. But my issue is that it is sporadic. Say I have a  IAP 135 with 3 users connected on it. One of the users gets the 169.254.x.x address while the other users have an IP in our coroporate DHCP range. The only way i have found to get the user with the "wrong" ip to pick up a valid dhcp IP is to reboot the IAP. Once it come back up they connect and get a valid DHCP IP.

 

What's weird is its not fixed to one particular IAP nor a particular client nor a particular timeframe, it varies around our IAP infrastucture (we have 38 of them managed by Airwave in 11 different geographic locations) all different times. We can go a few days without any issue, then it one day i have to reboot 3 devices. 

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-17-2014

Re: Windows DHCP and Aruba AP-135

Right, I did what you asked with the following details set for my own network but my laptop is still suffering from the same symptoms as before:

 

Name: VLAN100

VLAN: 100

Helper address: 10.60.100.2

 

Any other suggestions I may have missed?

 

- Liam

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: