Aruba Instant & Cloud Wi-Fi

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-10-2015

iAp-325s added to existing mixed 115/225 network

[ Edited ]

We have a mixed environment iAP-115/iAP-225 environment. I have already gone through the confusion of the -225 rebooting if ethernet 0 and 1 were hooked up, also that the iAP-225 insisted on being the Virtual Controller, and I have also updated Airware to version 8.2.2.1. However, for the purposes of this problem, we have put Airwave in monitor-only mode, and are updating using the VC.

We have ordered and received a number of new iAp-325s that will eventually replace all the existing -115s and -225s. I can't rip them all out and start over; we have to stay "up" throughout the process. These -325s were shipped with firmware version 6.4.4.4-4.2.3.0. I was told by Aruba engineers that the Virtual Controller must be at this code for them to join the cluster. Guess what? This code is not available to me (or anyone else). So I updated the VC code to 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0_56428, thinking that a higher code might force the iAP-325s to upgrade. Now my Aruba Engineers are telling me not to install the iAP-325s, and that some pretty elaborate measures are needed. (Shut down all iAPs in the cluster, put in one iAP-325 as master, update it, then bring the other older iAPs back online. This might solve one iAP-325, but I have hundreds more). Bear in mind this is a school system, in session daily, and heavily dependent on wireless for our 1 to 1 initiatives. There has got to be a better way. Can someone steer me to that better way?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,348
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iAp-325s added to existing mixed 105/225 network

You need to:

 

- Download the software that applied to your 105, 225 and 325 software here:  http://support.arubanetworks.com/LifetimeWarrantySoftware/tabid/121/DMXModule/661/Default.aspx?EntryId=21998

- Upload that software to Device Setup> Upload Firmware and Files in Airwave. 

- Go into the Airwave Group that manages those IAPs and under Aruba Virtual Instant Controller set the firmware the version of firmware you uploaded to Airwave and set "Enforce Group Firmware Version".

 

That should automatically upgrade the existing cluster, then when you at the IAP-325s into the same cluster, it should also be upgraded with the firmware you uploaded to Airwave.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-10-2015

Re: iAp-325s added to existing mixed 105/225 network

We have already installed 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0_56428 for all three iAP types on the Airwave controller-iAP-115, iAP-225, and iAP-325. Do we need to downgrade these versions to 6.4.4.4-4.2.3.2? 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,348
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iAp-325s added to existing mixed 105/225 network

Yes, because the AP-105 is not supported on 4.3.0.0

https://support.arubanetworks.com/Documentation/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Command/Core_Download/Default.aspx?EntryId=23465 (page 7)

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-10-2015

Re: iAp-325s added to existing mixed 105/225 network

The "ap-105s" referenced in the title was a mistake, which I could not correct (they should have been labelled -115s). All the iAPs in this cluster are either -115s or -225s, and we are adding -325s. We are currently on revision 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0_56428, which is housed on a iAP-225, controlled by Airwave. All the iAPs are behaving normally and show as "good".

So again, I ask, do we need to downgrade, or is this version 6.5.0.0-4.3.0.0_56428 good for all iAPs?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,348
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iAp-325s added to existing mixed 105/225 network

It should not be a problem.

All the APs that are not in the cluster, you should ssh into them and type "show log system" to see what the problem is.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-10-2015

Re: iAp-325s added to existing mixed 105/225 network

Worked like a charm. I actually disconnected all iAPs except the one -225 (which was acting as VC), then connected the -325 up using ethernet port 0. iAP came up, got the new firmware, rebooted, and then came completely up in the correct group. I then reconnected all the iAP-115s back up without incident. Thanks for the invaluable input! If I had followed what the first-line techs wanted me to do, I'd be working on this for months.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: