Campus Switching and Routing

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

Hello everyone,

 

I ran into an issue today and I was hoping some of the veterans would be able to shed light on it.

 

I'm in the process of installing some IAP-225s, they are all plugged in (dual homed) but the ports are in shutdown since you need to do things in order so I can configure the virutal controller. 

 

I'm trying to reboot a few APs via POE cycling but the port still provides power... 

 

#show interface gigabitethernet 0/0/29

GE0/0/29 is administratively Down, Link is Down, Line protocol is Down
Hardware is Gigabit Ethernet, Interface is 2W-C21, Address is 00:1a:1e:16:ba:9f
Encapsulation ARPA, Loopback not set
Configured: duplex (N/A), Speed (N/A), FC (Off), Autoneg (Off)
Auto negotiation in progress
Interface index: 30
MTU 1514 bytes
Link flaps: 24
Flags: Access, Trusted
Link status last changed: 0d 00:00:00 ago
Last update of counters: 0d 00:00:00 ago
Last clearing of counters: 0d 00:00:00 ago
Statistics:
Received 21954831 frames, 1896642034 octets
0 pps, 0 bps
11169636 unicast, 704 multicast, 10784491 broadcast
0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
0 error octets, 0 CRC frames
Transmitted 79628884 frames, 5618277482 octets
0 pps, 0 bps
68735448 unicast, 66263 multicast, 10827173 broadcast
0 throttles, 0 errors octets, 0 deferred
0 collisions, 0 late collisions
PoE Information:
Administratively Disable, Port status: Off, Power consumption: 0 mW
PSE port status: Off, PD detection in progress

 

#show interface gigabitethernet 0/0/31

GE0/0/31 is administratively Down, Link is Down, Line protocol is Down
Hardware is Gigabit Ethernet, Interface is 2W-C22, Address is 00:1a:1e:16:ba:a1
Encapsulation ARPA, Loopback not set
Configured: duplex (N/A), Speed (N/A), FC (Off), Autoneg (Off)
Auto negotiation in progress
Interface index: 32
MTU 1514 bytes
Link flaps: 21
Flags: Access, Trusted
Link status last changed: 0d 00:00:00 ago
Last update of counters: 0d 00:00:00 ago
Last clearing of counters: 0d 00:00:00 ago
Statistics:
Received 67201598 frames, 4633811555 octets
0 pps, 0 bps
67107346 unicast, 3113 multicast, 91139 broadcast
0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
0 error octets, 0 CRC frames
Transmitted 34567322 frames, 2889396417 octets
0 pps, 0 bps
12993290 unicast, 66678 multicast, 21507354 broadcast
0 throttles, 0 errors octets, 0 deferred
0 collisions, 0 late collisions
PoE Information:
Administratively Disable, Port status: On, Power consumption: 9500 mW
PSE port status: On

 

These are the 2 ports of an IAP-225, and I'm a little confused as to why POE is diabled but the port still provides power.

 

Any thoughts?

 

(ArubaS3500-48P, Version 7.4.0.1)

(IAP-225, Version 6.4.2.6-4.1.1.8_50989)

Contributor II
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-10-2011

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

 

There was related known issue.  Will get back after checking if it is the same as that.

And also if any fix was made available in any of the higher version images.

 

Thanks,

-Vinay

 

Contributor II
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-10-2011

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

 

is 'poe-factory-initial' is applied on interfaces. and PoE is disabled under that ?

 

Can you try creating your own user defined poe-profile with PoE disabled, And apply that profile to target interfaces ?

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

No the poe profile isn't poe-factory-initial, I created a new profile for which poe is disabled.

Contributor II
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-10-2011

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

Can you provide below details:

 

show interface-config gigabitethernet 0/0/31 | include PoE

show poe interface gigabitethernet 0/0/31

show interface-profile poe-profile  <profile-name>

 

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

#show interface-config gigabitethernet 0/0/31 | include PoE
Interface PoE Profile disable gigabitethernet0/0/31

 

 #show poe interface gigabitethernet 0/0/31

GE0/0/31: Administratively Disable, Port status: On
Maximum power: 30000 mW, Power consumption: 9500 mW
Port voltage: 55700 mV, Port current: 172 mA
PD class: Class-4, Priority: High, PSE port status: On

 

 #show interface-profile poe-profile disable

Power over Ethernet profile "disable" (N/A)
-------------------------------------------
Parameter Value
--------- -----
Enable PoE interface Disabled
Max Power on PoE port milliwatts 30000
PoE port priority high
time-range-profile N/A

Contributor II
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎12-10-2011

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

Yann,

Config looks fine. Hence, there should not be issue. open a support ticket along with 'tar logs tech-support' for further investgation.

-Rgds

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

Hello Yann,

 

Did you find a solution for this problem? I'm experiencing the exact situation. Appreciate it you could share some information.

Contributor II
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎08-21-2014

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

I am experiencing this exact problem on a single S2500. I disabled the PoE profile and pushed it out to all of the switches through airwave and this single switch refuses to power off the IAP even though the interface and poe profile both say that it is off.

 

Rebooted and power cycled the switch in person, but that didn't help either.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: MAS 3500 poe disabled, port still has power

Hi Vincent,

 

I had the same issue with MAS running with 7.3 firmware. This seem to be caused by a bug and had been fixed on 7.4 firmware.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: