Campus Switching and Routing

Reply
MVP
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

MAS: Stack member is dormant

I have two 2500's in a stack.  Member 0 is primary and member 1 is a linecard.  The current state of the linecard is Dormant due to  version mismatch.  I can't figure out how to upgrade member 1 to clear up the version mismatch.  I can't find a copy command that allows copying between stack members.  The ability to upgrade from USB isn't available.  All attempts to remove the linecard from the stack fail.  It's not very clear what to do when presented with two stack members of different versions.  Any thoughts on what I can do?

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: MAS: Stack member is dormant

Thecompnerd,

You cannot copy an active image from member 0 to member 1 however you can use TFTP/SCP/FTP to retrieve an image for the dormant member via the active network connection of member 0. Here is the syntax:

 

copy tftp: <IP-Address> <Image-Name> member: <ID> system: partition [ 0 | 1 ]

 

Once that is done you can do "reload <member-ID>"

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

 

 

MVP
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: MAS: Stack member is dormant

These devices are for a lab, so I won't be putting them on our corporate network where a TFTP resides.  I suppose I could use my computer with a TFTP client, but there's got to be an easier way.  I'm thinking maybe my best bet is to somehow remove member 1 from the stack and upgrade via USB.  Since I'm not having any luck removing member 1 from the stack, do I need to do a factory reset and unplug the stack cable?

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: MAS: Stack member is dormant

Physically disconnect member 1 and issue "restore factory_default stacking". This will cause a reboot.

 

On the exisiting primary, issue "clear stacking member-id 1".

 

Once member 1 has rebooted, use the USB to upgrade the member. I would then halt the member, attach it to the stack, and boot it up.

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

MVP
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: MAS: Stack member is dormant

[ Edited ]

Had one minor issue with those commands.  When I disconnected the stack, I was booted into line card mode in the CLI and couldn't clear stack member 1.  This is what I did to resolve my problem:

 

  1. Disconnect DAC
  2. Console to member 1 and copy image from USB
  3. Reload member 1
  4. Reconnect DAC

Thanks for the help, Madani.

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: MAS: Stack member is dormant

Ah, make sure that you have "no split-detection" enabled for two member stacks. That should avoid the problem of member 0 going to linecard state.

MVP
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎10-11-2011

Re: MAS: Stack member is dormant

Ahh, yes!  Thank you.

=======================================
If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: