Campus Switching and Routing

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2014

error octets

What are error octets?

What causes error octets?

I just had 6 interfaces on three different switch stacks(s2500) have excessive error octets on interfaces with AP's(225) attached. All at roughly 12:22am

 

EX

GE0/0/9 is administratively Up, Link is Up, Line protocol is Up
Hardware is Gigabit Ethernet, Interface is GE0/0/9, Address is 00:0b:86:8c:c3:4b
Encapsulation ARPA, Loopback not set
Configured: duplex (Auto), Speed (Auto), FC (Off), Autoneg (On)
Negotiated: duplex (Full), Speed (1 Gbps)
Interface index: 10
MTU 1514 bytes
Link flaps: 1
Flags: Access, Trusted
Link status last changed: 6w4d 13:15:59 ago
Last update of counters: 0d 00:00:05 ago
Last clearing of counters: 6w4d 13:16:50 ago
Statistics:
Received 148493667 frames, 38621797155 octets
1 pps, 2.363 Kbps
148359541 unicast, 134072 multicast, 54 broadcast
0 runts, 33451 giants, 0 throttles
50912422 error octets, 0 CRC frames
Transmitted 265708451 frames, 96112637133 octets
3 pps, 3.682 Kbps
260827725 unicast, 4254173 multicast, 626553 broadcast
0 throttles, 0 errors octets, 0 deferred
0 collisions, 0 late collisions
PoE Information:
Administratively Enable, Port status: On, Power consumption: 9600 mW
PSE port status: On

 

 

Thanks in advance

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,291
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: error octets

[ Edited ]

I would or replace the cabling, first, and then clear the counters.

 

EDIT:  To be specific, try to replace a single cable, and clear the counters on that interface and see if the errors persist.  The errors are not broken out, so it is hard to tell exactly what they are.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2014

Re: error octets

Six patch cables do not go bad all at the same time.

Six Ap's at same time on 3 different switch stacks?

Looking to get educated on ERROR OCTETS.

Again what are error octets?

What causes error octets?

Why would 6 different AP's cause error octets at the same time? On 3 seperate aruba switch stacks?

Thanks,

Jeff Hart

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,291
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: error octets

I don't think that anyone said they went bad at the same time.  Errors are frames that are sent or received with errors.  Typically errors are created by hardware.  If you had a gbic connected, the next move would be to replace the gbic, but you are not doing that, so the next move would be to replace the cable, because it is the cheapest hardware to replace.  It is that simple.  Or you can just open a tac case.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2014

Re: error octets

I understand replacing patch cables, but my thing is that why would 6 AP's have a high numbers of error octets at the same time??  

I have not replaced cables yet, but did clear counters on 2 of the interfaces and error octets are appearing, not big numbers, but rising.

What end should I start at? Switch or AP side?

Thanks

Jeff hart

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,291
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: error octets

Jeff Hart,

 

It is your choice.  I would open a TAC case in parallel and get their recommendations, instead of us just guessing here on the forum.  



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2014

Re: error octets

[ Edited ]

TAC case opened.

update:  appears to have been MTU size issue.  

Set SAP MTU on controller to 1500 on AP system profile "default"

Thanks,

Jeff Hart

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: