Controllerless Networks

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Aggregated link support on instant

Hi,

 

I am trying to get an aggregated (LACP) port group to work on an IAP-225 and so take advantage of a "potential" 1.3gbps

 

It is plugging into  a HP Procurve switch 2626.

 

No mater what I do I cannot get an LACP trunk to come up.

 

The HP switch supports dynamic channel which seems to create an LACP group if a new LACP partner device if plugged in.  This doesn't work after plugging in an IPA-225

 

I have also tried to create a manual LACP group or "trunk" as its called on a HP switch. Plugging in an IAP-225 in this configuration also does not work.

 

I have made no configuration changes to the IAP-225.

 

show lacp status always shows: "LACP not configured"

 

any ideas appreciated.

 

thanks

 

Dave

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,759
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

Is the HP side active or passive?


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

Hi,

 

the LACP trunk on the HP is active.

 

Dave

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,759
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

Can you try passive?

Also, try just plugging eth0 in then wait a few seconds, then attached eth1.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

Interestingly i tried this on the other HP switch i had (now unavailable) and it seemed to work, plugging in eth0 came up as an LACP group then plugging in eth1 and it worked, however upon a reboot it did't re-negotiate the LACP link.

 

This HP switch wont even bring up the LACP trunk with just eth0 connected.

 

I have just tested with a dell switch and it "seems" to work as expected.

 

so its looks to be a HP compatability / configuration issue.

 

Is there somthing i can do on the AP to force an LACP group configuration on the wired ports, rather than leaving it all to auto configure?

 

Thanks again

 

Dave

 

 

Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

I am getting nowhere on this. I have got it wokring on a dell switchbut not on this HP switch, and unfortunately the cleint has A HP switch.

 

Has no one had to configure the IAP-225 or any IAP with a LAG group configuration to a HP switch?

 

Dave

 

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

did you ever get further with this? i probably have to configure this in few weeks (unsure of the switch exact type, but HP for sure) so im interested in sharing experience. what firmware is the switch running?

Contributor II
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎12-11-2012

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

You may be OK, I never got it working on the HP switch I had. TAC couldnt help me. I think i got it working on another HP switch but i wouldnt bet on it.

 

It seems ed to work ok on a dell too. But again i think if you start adding more than one AP to buikld the instant network, thats when it started to fail.

 

I haven't tried since the latest major firmware realese though!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-16-2014

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

Latest firmware on both my HP switch and the IAP-225 and still can't the LACP to come up.

MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Aggregated link support on instant

i also gave it a try and couldn't get it to work.

 

didn't help my HP switch knowledge is limited and it seems there are several approaches to configuring LACP on HP switches.

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: