Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

I explain my problem.
We have an installation with 18 IAP205 and we would like to add 45 IAP305.

 

I tried to make a model not to disrupt the client's network:
I use an IAP205 and an IAP305. I would like to form a cluster with two IPAs but I can not ...
Both IAP205 and 305 have the same code version.
The IAP205 terminal is the master with the IP address of the virtual controller 172.16.0.240 (physical IP address : 172.16.0.241)
When I enter the IP address of the virtual controller in the IAP305 terminal (physical IP address 172.16.0.242), I find myself with two virtual controllers (and thus duplicate IP address) ...

Is there a specific version to be able to form a cluster with these two types of terminals?

 

How to train the cluster?

 

Thank you in advance.

 

Laetitia.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,512
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

What version is are you running on the IAP205s?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

If I recall correctly, the current version is:
- "ArubaInstant_Taurus_6.5.1.0-4.3.1.2_58595" for IAP205
- "ArubaInstant_Ursa_6.5.1.0-4.3.1.2_58595" for IAP305

I had already try with the latest version (6.5.3.0) but with exactly the same problem ...

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,512
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

You should just be able to boot the 305 in the same subnet and it should join the cluster. If that does not work, SSH into the 305 and type "show log system" to get a clue what could be happening.


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

Hello,
I'm sorry, but I'm not competent enough to see what's wrong with the logs ...
I have attached to you the results of the "show log system" of the IAP305 but also the configuration file of the two IAPs.

Maybe you can tell me what's wrong ...

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,512
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

Your main problem is that your IAP cannot obtain the time from an NTP server:

Jan  1 08:01:10  cli[2254]: <341004> <WARN> |AP AP305-02@172.16.100.60 cli|  Received NTP alert trigger - status is failure, retry - 0, DTLS state - 0  
Jan  1 08:01:11  cli[2254]: <341004> <WARN> |AP AP305-02@172.16.100.60 cli|  Received NTP alert trigger - status is failure, retry - 1, DTLS state - 0 

If NTP is blocked within your network, many things like certificate services will not work..

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-05-2014

Re: IAP205 and IAP305 : cluster issue

Excuse me for not answering earlier ...

I managed to solve my problem by re-initializing the AP205 in factory configuration. This is a terminal where we do a few tests, perhaps there was a setting that blocked the association of the AP305.

 

The key is that the cluster between AP205 and AP305 is operational. We are going to do the "real" installation tomorrow at the customer's, I hope not to have to do the same (reset the terminals).

 

Thank you for your help.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: