Controllerless Networks

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-29-2012

New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

Trying to add several new IAP-275's into a mixed IAP-105/135 setup.  The 275 pulls its assigned address (DHCP/BootP) and can ping, and the indicator light goes green, but then it appears to cycle off every 5 minutes or so and never appears in the virtual controller web console.  If I browse to its address, it redirects to the VC Master, so it is pulling something, but it never fully comes up to provide access or coverage.

 

All the IAP-105's/135's are at 6.3.1.8-4.0.0.9_47220

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

Try upgrading everything to 4.1.1.3.  They must be on the same code version...

 

If you have problems obtaining 4.1.1.3, please PM me.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-29-2012

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

Awesome - Thanks!  In some further browseing I was starting to suspect that may be the case.  I am unable to pull new firmware from the VC page - it says either "No New Firmware Available" or "No response From the Server"

 

I'll PM you.

 

Thanks Again.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-29-2012

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

Thanks again for the assitance - everything is copacetic in my world.  BTW - love the 275 product format - self contained.  Fits perfectly what we need.  Large auto repair shop and sales lot coverage.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-25-2015

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

I am having the exact same problem that is described in the original post. I have upgraded my 135 environment to the latest available firmware, but my 275 is still doing the same thing. The update was ArubaInstant_Cassiopeia_6.4.2.6-4.1.1.8_50989. Is there anyway I can check my firmware version on the 275 to see if they match?

 

Thanks in advance,

 Brett

MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

You need to make sure that your 275 is on that code before adding it to the cluster otherwise it will fail to join
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

From the 275 console you should be to see the version when the device is booting up or you can run a show version
Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-25-2015

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

Thank you! This solved my issue. My 135s were actually on a higher FW than the brand new 275. I upgraded the 275 and then it showed up in my existing IAP network. Thanks Again!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

I'm having somewhat of a similar problem as described in the previous posts here.

I have a cluster consisting of iap 210 and iap 215.

Now that I am going to add some IAP 277 into this mix, these do not show up in the virtual controller as the other IAP's do when I connect them.

I have tried to check for new firmware updates automatically, but every time I get the message: 

"Received no response from the server".

Is there somewhere I can download the latest firmware from manually?

 

My current firmware version is: 6.4.2.3-4.1.1.4_49446

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,587
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: New IAP-275 not showing in virtual controller page

Jeppe,

 

That is because the minimum IAP version for the IAP-277 is 4.2.0:

http://community.arubanetworks.com/aruba/attachments/aruba/ProductDataSheets/9/1/270%20Data%20Sheet.pdf

Screenshot 2016-06-02 at 03.35.53.png

 

For all of those APs to talk, you would need to download the Early Access 4.2.x.x software for them here:  http://support.arubanetworks.com/LifetimeWarrantySoftware/tabid/121/DMXModule/661/EntryId/20388/Default.aspx

 

- You will need a TFTP server to do a multi-platform cluster upgrade manually, since the auto-update process only "sees" GA code.

- You might have to upgrade the AP-277 on a separate network by itself before it can "see" the rest of the upgraded cluster.

- Let us know if you have any problems getting the code or upgrading.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: