Controllerless Networks

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

iAP to iAP traffic

I have several branches with iAP's and need them to see the master iAP at HQ.  I have my virtual controller setup but I cannot get the branch iAP's to communicate to the master.  I tried GRE but cannot get that working either.  This really should be simple.  The branch iAP's can ping the master iAP and the virtual controller IP.  The Branch iAP's are on the same Cisco VLAN as the master iAP but they are different subnets.

MVP
Posts: 1,357
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

I'm not sure how two devices can be on the same VLAN but in different subnets unless you are super-netting a VLAN. Might be better to say the IAPs need to be in the same broadcast domain, ala in the same network. If they are in differrent routed networks, that will have to be corrected so that they share the same L2. 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

AP1 is at site1 on network 10.1.85.1

AP2 is at site2 on network 10.10.85.1

MVP
Posts: 1,357
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

So what is the netmask for each? If it's not 255.0.0.0, then they are on different subnets and they won't form a cluster. 

Jerrod Howard
Sr. Techical Marketing Engineer
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

I have them both on 255.0.0.0 but now I cannot access the virtual controller IP nor the AP on network 1.  I can only access the AP on network 2 and it cannot see the AP on network 1.

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

I can ping AP1 from AP2.  Is there something I have to build between them?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,281
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

One AP has to be rebooted so that it can join the other cluster on their management subnet.  



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

Do I have to do something to make them create a cluster?

I don't understand if they can see eachother why are they both trying to be the master and not acknowledging eachother.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,281
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

The question is, what are you trying to do?  Are you trying to manage IAPs that cross different sites?  Each cluster should only really be at a single site....



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: iAP to iAP traffic

Yes.  I need to manage multiple sites.  All of our wireless traffic comes to the main office and I need it to go to a firewall that is connected to a cable modem.

Currently we have Cisco controller and AP's.  I am wanting to replace this with Aruba iAP's.

The current controller has the AP's on a VLAN and it directs traffic to the firewall to get all wireless traffic out that connection.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: