Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

BL location beacon in 325 APs

[Not sure I'm posting on right board...]

So we turned on the beacon on one of our 325s... but when I tried to identify it with an iOS beacon app (Proximity Events), I wasn't able to find the UUID. Would I find that somewhere within the Controller, or does a different software control the beacon functionality?
Aruba Employee
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎02-19-2015

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

Russell,

 

Check on the controller

 

#show ap debug ble-table ap-name <name> to display the beacons table

Capture.PNG

 

Regards,

Pavan

Contributor II
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

Pavan,

Apologize for asking an elementary question, but you would run that from Diagnostics/General/SSH Terminal, correct?

 

I'm clarifying because I don't believe my permission level allows shell access. (I get:


      Note:
      Please refresh the page to re-connect
      Public key authentication is not supported
      For security purposes, the user needs to re-enter the password
 

Is there no other way to get the BLE UUID?

Aruba Employee
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎02-19-2015

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

Hi,

 

We need to have shell access to APs to run those command. I dont think we have anyother way to check the beacon table list.

 

Regards,

Pavan

Contributor II
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

OK, I'll see if I can have someone else run the command.

 

Let me ask you, Pavan, if I have the AP's BLE mode set to "beaconing" will I need to do anything else in order to pair a device with the beacon?

 

I keep reading about "the Meridian app" but not sure where that is accessed from.  

Aruba Employee
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎02-19-2015

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

[ Edited ]

Hi,

AP 325 is inbuilt beacon (which acts as indiviudal beacon) when configured with meridian details it start sending the beacon info to controller and to meridian cloud. If it is IAP then it will send data directly to meridian cloud.

 

AP325>Controller>Meridian Cloud

IAP30x >Meridian Cloud

 

If have you battery powered beacon and want to manage then you need USB power beacon plug in to APs.

 

We have meridian cloud (edit.meridianapps.com) where you could create iOS and Android apps that provide your visitors turn-by-turn directions, location and time-based push notifications, and other location-based services.

If you want to create account , please check with your Aruba accounts team, who could help you in getting account in meridian.

 

Regards,

Pavan

Contributor II
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

If you want to create account , please check with your Aruba accounts team, who could help you in getting account in meridian.

 

Pavan, does a Meridian account something that involves additional licensing fees?

Aruba Employee
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎02-19-2015

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

Hi,

 

We have different types of meridian subscriptions available, if you are looking for a trail I believe it will be valid for 3months (not sure exactly) and need to buy for full subscription.

 

Please check with your accounts team for more details.

 

Regards,

Pavan

Contributor II
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎08-20-2014

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

I do not have the budget to pay for additional features. 

 

So, just want to clarify: even if I have ble op mode set to "beaconing," that alone will not turn the ble beacon on?

 

 

(I have identified the beacon UUID #.)

 

 

 

 

Aruba Employee
Posts: 464
Registered: ‎02-19-2015

Re: BL location beacon in 325 APs

Hi,

 

Could you let me know why you want to enable beacon if you are not using meridian?

 

Regards,

Pavan

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: