Network Management

Reply
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

VisualRF admin access

Hi,

Is it possible to create AirWave user allowing it only admin access to VisualRF? Thanks in advance.

 

 

Regards,

Nebojsa

Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: VisualRF admin access

Hi,

 

Directly not possible, but we can give Read only on AMP, no access to RAPIDS and Reab/Write to VisualRF.

 

For your ref:

 

AMP.JPG

Hope you got your solution :)
Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: VisualRF admin access

Thanks Venu, much appreciated.

 

Regards,

Nebojsa

Moderator
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: VisualRF admin access

I'd like to know more about this use case.  The reason that there isn't a VisualRF only user is because users with visibility of VisualRF typically are allowed visibility into the devices they can see in VisualRF.  In most cases, Help Desk troubleshooters leverage the visibility of the controller/APs to compare experiences between users connecting through the same network path (ex: are 2 users on the same AP having completely different experiences?  If so, it could be a client type specific issue).  Having the ability to drill down to this level is the main reason for having read-only access to the device info tabs.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Occasional Contributor II
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-31-2012

Re: VisualRF admin access

Hi Rob,

Reasoning behind this is that we are starting to add sites/devices to Airwave. Having more than 1000 sites we want to enable non-critical members of staff to do initial work: create folders, add devices, and floor plans to VisualRF following documented process.

Hope this makes sense.

 

Regards,

Nebojsa

 

Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: VisualRF admin access

Hi,

 

Good scenario. perfect :)

 

 

Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Moderator
Posts: 1,252
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: VisualRF admin access

There's currently 2 ways to go about that.

1) Through the main AirWave system with the VisualRF write access / Monitor only mode for the rest of the AMP features.

 

2) I would typically suggest that if you have someone uploading floor plans that they do it initially with VisualRF Plan (It's a Windows only app - essentially just the VisualRF portion of AirWave).  This way the workload can be partitioned per floor or building or campus (depending on how many staff members can perform the work).  When they place APs (as planned APs), they can provide AP name and/or MAC address.  Once the work is complete, they can export the plans they've done and then import them into AirWave.  After import, someone can go through each floor plan to do the Edit -> Auto-match planned devices (it's a per floor operation) / while sanity checking AP placement as they go.


Rob Gin
Senior QA Engineer - Network Services
Aruba Networks, a Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: