Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: 2 hours ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

VSF in chain mode

This thread has been viewed 24 times
  • 1.  VSF in chain mode

Posted Jan 25, 2018 12:24 PM

Hi experts,

I am very new with Aruba switches and stacking and VSF in general. I have created my first VSF following the following procedure:

http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Campus-Switching-and-Routing/Configure-Virtual-Switching-Framework-VSF-in-2-steps/td-p/266765

The only change is that my switches use port 25 and port 26 for the VSF link.

After connecting both port 25 and 26 to the second switch, it has rebooted and the VSF has formed:

Aruba-VSF-2930F# show vsf link detail

VSF Member: 1 Link: 1

Port State
    -------- ------------
    1/25 Up: Connected to port 2/25
    1/26 Up: Connected to port 2/26

VSF Member: 2 Link: 1

Port State
    -------- ------------
    2/25 Up: Connected to port 1/25
    2/26 Up: Connected to port 1/26

However, the VSF topology is chain:

Aruba-VSF-2930F# show vsf

VSF Domain ID : 1
    MAC Address : f40343-0f7383
    VSF Topology : Chain
    VSF Status : Active
    Uptime : 0d 0h 6m
    VSF MAD : None
    VSF Port Speed : 10G
    Software Version : WC.16.03.0007

Mbr
    ID MAC Address Model Pri Status
    --- ------------- -------------------------------------- --- ---------------
    1 f40343-0f7380 Aruba JL253A 2930F-24G-4SFP+ Switch 128 Commander
    2 98f2b3-b82240 Aruba JL253A 2930F-24G-4SFP+ Switch 128 Standby

According to the switch guide, a ring topology is recommended. But this guide also says ring topologies supported are those of 3 and 4 members.