Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-29-2009

2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

Hi,

 

The AP-225 is connected on the switch with 802.3at (PoE+), I try to connect another AP (and maybe later other stuff) but doesn't bringing up. Any doc about it?

 

Just like test I did a AP specific configuration with new settings but nothing...

 

Regards.

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,792
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

What kind of switch? Is PoE enabled on all switch ports?






Sent from Windows Mail

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
MVP
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

 

Can you console into the AP and if there's any error messages ?

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-29-2009

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

Kind of switch?: Is a 802.3at switch and the power is enabled on the port where the AP-225 is.

 

 

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-29-2009

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

PoE AP-225 to PoE AP-61.PNG

The AP-61 is not getting power.

 

P.D.: Ok the AP-225 is represented by AP-12X icon but that´s the idea. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,792
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

The AP is not a PSE (power sourcing equipment) and can't provide power to another AP.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-29-2009

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

:(  I supossed because... OK, i´ll tell to the person who told me that other AP (ruckus brand) does it & that i was wrong about aruba APs can do it and can do everything that others do and more.. :(

 

don
Contributor I
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-03-2007

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225

  You might be able to put a PoE injector between the 225 and the 61 to push 15 watts to the 61.  Not sure why you would ever want to do this with a Ruckus or any other AP,.  Just because you can doesn't mean it's a good idea.:smileyfrustrated:

- Don

Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎09-29-2009

Re: 2nd AP connected to eth1 on AP-225


don wrote:

  You might be able to put a PoE injector between the 225 and the 61 to push 15 watts to the 61.  Not sure why you would ever want to do this with a Ruckus or any other AP,.  Just because you can doesn't mean it's a good idea.:smileyfrustrated:

- Don



AP61 is just an example and I did that with the PoE (I did it before the post). The focus is about PSE, if I what connect another device without PoE injector/DC/AC/Solar/etc IT´S A GOOD IDEA FOR ME (just plug an power it up). ;)

Homer

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: