Wireless Access

Occasional Contributor II

30 students on 1 AP ?

Hi all,

i'm new to Aruba and to high density wifi as well. I read some good thing here and also found some formula, but i'd like to have some more info.

We will have some classrooms (with about 30 students) with a size of about 40m2 close to each other. Then it seem difficult to have more that one AP per classroom as it would result in channel collisions/congestion i guess, right ?

We are thinking of using AP embedded controller, there will be about 15 AP (about 15 classrooms)

I know that 310/320 serie AP could have a great density, but been able to have many connections do not mean been able to have speed for everyone.

One first thing i do not understand : 310 has 1x1Gbps link, 320 2x1Gbps link, why ? Wifi will never have such a throughput and then will never need such link, am i mistaking ?

use of the wifi will be citrix, then at least 2Mpbs is needed, 5 will be better.

But is one AP able to handle such thing ?

This also will be a BYOD system, we will have many different capability : 2.4 or 5 GHz, wifi b, g, n, ac ... and if everyone is speaking a different protocol will it result in congestion or so and if  a device is able a 5Ghz that should be important to "force" it to use 5GHz to leave 2.4 for others, right?

Any though about all of that is welcome

Thanks !

Guru Elite

Re: 30 students on 1 AP ?

If you have not already, please see the blog entry here:  http://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Technology-Blog/Choices-choices-which-Wave-2-AP-is-right-for-me/ba-p/279704

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Hi Colin,

thanks for this interesting link.

Our choice was between 315 and 325

But i can see differences that i can not understand :

- 315 is doing 4x4:4SS MU-MIMO and 325 "only" 4X4:3SS

- but 325 is also doing 4x4:4SS SU-MIMO

- 315 has 160Mhz channel, 325 is 80MHz