Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

Hey,

Im struggling a bit with a problem.

It seems like my .a channel is not ok in my env.

Maybe im wrong but if u select channel 36+ in 802.11a profile shouldnt the AP:s  be configured like in channels 36,40,44 etc to avoid interference.

In my 2.4 ghz or 802.11g it working fine there i have 1+ but not in my 802.11a they are using the same arm profile.

Just tried to reboot the AP:s and also controller but  ....... maybe im missing somethinge here but just

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------

(INDEX-ARUBA) #show ap config ap-name "AP 1" | include Channel
Channel                                                         1+                              36+                    rf dot11g-radio-profile "default" / rf dot11a-radio-profile "default"
RX Sensitivity Tuning Based Channel Reuse                       disable                         disable                rf dot11g-radio-profile "default" / rf dot11a-radio-profile "default"
Free Channel Index                                              10                              10                     rf arm-profile "default"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

(INDEX-ARUBA) #show ap radio-database

AP Radio Database
-----------------
Name               Group     AP Type  IP Address   Status         Flags  Switch IP    11g Mode/Chan/EIRP/Cli  11a Mode/Chan/EIRP/Cli
----               -----     -------  ----------   ------         -----  ---------    ----------------------  ----------------------
6c:f3:7f:ca:a7:83  Rototilt  105      10.1.50.104  Up 1h:54m:35s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1+/9/0           AP(HT)/116+/9/0
6c:f3:7f:ca:a7:8d  Rototilt  105      10.1.50.105  Up 1h:54m:47s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1/20/0           AP(HT)/116+/24/0
6c:f3:7f:ca:a7:8e  Rototilt  105      10.1.50.102  Up 1h:54m:54s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1/12/0           AP(HT)/116+/24/0
6c:f3:7f:ca:a7:90  Rototilt  105      10.1.50.101  Up 1h:54m:37s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/5-/18/0          AP(HT)/116+/15/0
6c:f3:7f:ca:a7:91  Rototilt  105      10.1.50.103  Up 1h:54m:22s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/5-/15/0          AP(HT)/116+/24/0
AP 1               Rotator   105      10.1.50.108  Up 19m:51s            10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1/20/2           AP(HT)/116+/24/1
AP 2               Rotator   105      10.1.50.109  Up 1h:54m:25s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1+/20/0          AP(HT)/116+/18/0
AP 3               Rotator   105      10.1.50.111  Up 1h:54m:53s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/5-/20/0          AP(HT)/116+/15/0
AP 4               Rotator   104      10.1.50.110  Up 1h:54m:9s          10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1+/20/0          AP(HT)/116+/25/0
d8:c7:c8:c7:06:dc  Rototilt  104      10.1.50.107  Up 1h:54m:54s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1/20/0           AP(HT)/116+/25/0
d8:c7:c8:c7:0f:75  Rototilt  104      10.1.50.106  Up 1h:54m:46s         10.1.50.100  AP(HT)/1+/20/0          AP(HT)/116+/25/0
---------------------------------------------------

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

What are you trying to do?  the Radio profile only suggests the initial channel the AP will come up on.  The regulatory domain profile determines what channels the AP is allowed to use..



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

We are doing a little small project where we are going to have WI-FI Phones in one of our WLANS.

WLANS for BYOD and PC:s should support 802.11 a/b/g/n

 

The goal is to run Phones in 5ghz so the headset dont interfear with the phones...

Phones we are using is Polycom:s 8440.

 

The thing is that the current setup is bad and i trying to figure out why,

Phones are cutting the lines and the coverage is poor too, they also not roaming good between the AP:s

We will have 4 AP-105 are spread out evenly in a area of 70m X 20m.

 

I using the default radio profiles for all of my WLANS maybe with some smaller adjustments.

 

 

I have followed the this guide for the setup http://supportdocs.polycom.com/PolycomService/support/global/documents/support/user/products/voice/VIEW_Aruba_Mobility.pdf

 

So when I check the Monitoring in web gui --> all accesspoints all .a channel shows 116 wonder if that causes problem between my AP:s?

Capture.PNG

 

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

Sorry,I did not notice that.

 

Your Adaptive Radio Management setting must be on "Single Band" in the ARM Profile for 802.11a.  You can also uncheck "client aware" if you cannot wait for clients to change channels while clients are attached.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

Yes i do have that setting.

 

here is the screenshoots from gui...

Capture2.PNG

 

my 802.11a

Capture3.PNG

So what i was expekting is default channel 36 and interference channels like 40 44 ...etc

But maybe i missed something?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

[ Edited ]

Uncheck client aware, and put a checkbox next to "scanning".

 

If access points are not scanning, they cannot determine what is the next channel to switch to.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-30-2013

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

I made the changes.

Do i have to do anything more or will it take awhile before they changing?

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,279
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: AP binds to channel 116 in 802.11a

It takes a minimum of 8 minutes.  



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: