Wireless Access

Reply
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-29-2014

Active-Standby Local redundancy

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

I have one question..

I want to configure Active-Standby Redundancy with Local controller. Using VRRP its simple but in my scenario the local controllers are in different VLAN, so i want to configure them using L3.

Is it possible?

HTH
Cheers
SumaN
MVP
Posts: 1,414
Registered: ‎11-30-2011

Re: Active-Standby Local redundancy

VRRP requires L2 connection.

 

this is more a wired/wireless board question btw, not AAA.

Regular Contributor II
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-29-2014

Re: Active-Standby Local redundancy

Sorry for the mistake, after posting I realized that but there is no option [or may be i'm not aware] to move a post from one board to another board. 

 

OK, that means we have to go to L2 for this deployment.

HTH
Cheers
SumaN
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Active-Standby Local redundancy

You can acheive redundancy by doing master-local which will work across L3 boundaries. It's not exactly the same as master redundancy but still allows for AP and client redundancy. 


Thanks, 
Tim

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Regular Contributor II
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎10-29-2014

Re: Active-Standby Local redundancy


cappalli wrote:
You can acheive redundancy by doing master-local which will work across L3 boundaries. It's not exactly the same as master redundancy but still allows for AP and client redundancy. 


Thanks, 
Tim

That means Active Active local redundancy and one more thing, some organization dont want to deploy VRRPp, so on that situation is VRRP the only option or we can achive this by another process.

HTH
Cheers
SumaN
Valued Contributor II
Posts: 804
Registered: ‎12-01-2014

Re: Active-Standby Local redundancy

Hi Suman,

 

Adding to above,

1. Master-Standby redundancy relys on VRRP and it is Master controller redundancy

2. Master ( will be deployed in Head office) local ( WIll be deployed in a branch office) setup is required to enable distributed AP termination ( APs of a respective branch office will be terminated on Local) to avoid over load on the master and also to avoid communication latency.

Master local setup works on L3 communication (over IPSec).

3. If you want to enable the redundancy for AP termination you have two options, 1. LMS (Local ) BkpLMS (Master or any other Local) 2. Active-Active Local redundancy, 

For Active- Active Local redundancy you have to bring up VRRP between two controllers (Local ) so that there is a redundancy for the LMS it self.

 

Hope you got some more clarity on this.

 

Please feel free for any further query on this.

 

Cheers,
Venu Puduchery,
[Is my post helped you ? Give Kudos :) ]
Guru Elite
Posts: 8,637
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: Active-Standby Local redundancy

[ Edited ]

[removed]


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: