Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

[ Edited ]

Is there a CLI command that I can see which VLAN is in use for which AP-group/VAP we have a lot of vlans and AP-groups.

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

Well, there is the show wlan virtual-ap <vap name> command which will show the vlan assignment.  

 

Another alternative is to migrate to vlan names and assign those names to each VAP.  Then, you can issue the show vlan mapping command to show how they all map out in a name to VLAN ID output.  

 

Instead of assigning a VLAN ID to the VAP, you assign the VLAN name to the VAP and on each controller, that same name can map to the same or different VLAN ID numbers.  

 

For example, you may have 2 controllers.  In location A, the "employee" VLAN maps to VLAN 10.  In location b, the "employee" VLAN maps to VLAN 20.  

 

By moving to VLAN names, it may help to create an easier to understand config.

Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

Use of VLAN names instead of VLAN ID#'s where do you setup the use of VLAN names? I remember that from the 3 day training seemed to be the best practice way to setup what your talking about.

Aruba
Posts: 1,368
Registered: ‎12-12-2011

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

You set that up on the controller where VLAN POOLING is located
Seth R. Fiermonti
Consulting Systems Engineer - ACCX, ACDX, ACMX
Email: seth@hpe.com
-----
If you found my post helpful, please give kudos
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

Too bad I have to select a VAP I would like to see all VAPS and which VLAN ID# they are using We have a different VAP for each AP group because we have split subnets in to /24 each location we are using OSPF. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,808
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

kell490,

 

The fact that you are using OSPF is interesting.  Does that mean that the controller is the default gateway for all of your wireless devices?



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

Yes each controller is the default gateway is the AP's that are assisnged to that controller. We have our network split up and spread over 3 local controllers and one master. The system is replacing older controllers that were using VRRP the person that setup the new system used OSPF with LMS backup and vlans setup on the master in case the backup is down also. We plan on adding 2 more 7220's for redundecy on the ones with the highest loads we support about 900 ap's right now plan on going up to 1500 in the future. The person that setup the controllers left shortly after he got them setup and I was handed the enviroment I had no experince with wireless so it's been a steep learning curve. I'm happy to have gotten it otherwise I would never had the opertunity to learn. I'm looking at the HA configuration for redundancy after we get rid of our old AP65's and 70's everything 105 and up should be compatable. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,808
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

[ Edited ]

Since you are making changes, would you consider just bridging user traffic layer-2 to layer 3 switches, so that you will not have to run OSPF or do static routing?  It could be simpler.  In addition, every building or area does not require its own VLAN or AP group.   There are campuses where everyone is on the same layer 2 VLAN...  That would eliminate the "waste" from assigning say a /24 to each building.  Less Vlans...no OSPF.... idea?

 

In addition, if you are using Airwave, you could use it to manage your configuration and it is easier through Airwave to tell what the dependencies on each profile, role, ACL exist..



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

 I thought it's a good idea to break up vlans seems that was how the "old days" we had a bunch of VLANS but now we break everything up using layer 3 keeping mac tables smaller and less devices see arp requests? Would it not be faster if we had smaller VLANS and less end user devices in them?

Guru Elite
Posts: 20,808
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: CLI command to find which VLAN is being used by which VAP/AP-group

[ Edited ]

So, it really depends on your infrastructure and your goal:  If you had 3 buildings, each with a VLAN, it would require 3 virtual APS and 3 AP-Groups  and 3 /24s (768 ips reserved) to serve those 3 buildings.  If 3 buildings shared one subnet, it would require a single ap-group for all the access points in those three buildings.  The configuration on your controller would be a single VLAN on a trunk and the configuration on the controller would be a single ap-group.  With broadcast suppression applied to that Virtual AP (broadcast filter all) only ARP requests NOT in the ARP table and DHCP would be propagated.  From an ARP table perspective on your layer 3 switch, it all depends on how many entries your layer 3 switch can handle in the ARP table.  If it can handle a sizeable amount, you do not have to run a routing protocol between your controller and layer 3 switch:  You would make the layer 3 switch the default gateway for your clients.  

 

That has three benefits:

 

1. You can provide redundancy for wireless clients by trunking a VLAN to two controllers; if one controller failed, the access points could flip over to the second one and the second controller would just bridge user traffic to the same layer 2 vlan, and no ip address reassignment would be necessary.

2.  In the Cisco world, HSRP provides redundancy for subnets (VRRP in the rest of the switching world) and your HSRP/VRRP address could be the default gateway for your clients, to provide switch-level redundancy 

3.  You would not have to run OSPF, since your layer 3 switch would just redistribute VLAN interfaces directly connected to your layer 3 switch.

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: