Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Controllers behind load balancer

We have two data centers with Aruba 7220 installed in each DC in Master/Local setup. Plan is to use this set up for our telecommuters with RAP3s. Can I use load balancer (F5 GTM) to load balance RAPs traffic to these controllers?

Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-16-2014

Re: Controllers behind load balancer

[ Edited ]

So you have 1x 7220 as MASTER in DC1 and 1x 7220 as LOCAL in DC2?

OR do you have 2x 7220 as MASTER/LOCAL in DC1 and DC2 (SUM: 4x7220)?

 

Normally you won't terminate a RAP on a MASTER, but you can do that if you want.

I would recommend the loadbalancing on this way:

 

Reserve two public IPs for the Controllers.

Create two AP-Groups.

AP-Group-1, LMS-IP: DC1, Backup-LMS-IP: DC2

AP-Group-2. LMS-IP: DC2, Backup-LMS-IP: DC1

 

Now you have to provision the RAPs in the different groups and you load balance them "manual".

But you can do that with the F5, too.

 

Regards,

Thomas

Systems-/Network-Engineer
ACMP, ACCP, Brocade Certified
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,493
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Controllers behind load balancer

- Setup your controllers with two public ip addresses.

- Setup a-record on your public DNS server that has those two public ip addresses (e.g. rap.domain.com)

- Setup your DNS server to round-robin (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Round-robin_DNS) so that it delivers alternating ip addresses when a device requests that a-record.

- Provision your RAPs to point to that public dns record (rap.domain.com).

- Your RAPs will obtain alternating ip addresses for the controller and load-balance

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Re: Controllers behind load balancer

Thank you!!

Is there a way to overwrite VLAN IDs that are being replicated from Master to Local for AP group?

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,493
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Controllers behind load balancer

You can use named vlans.
http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_64x_WebHelp/Web_Help_Index.htm#ArubaFrameStyles/Network_Parameters/Configuring_VLANs.htm?Highlight=Named vlan


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013

Re: Controllers behind load balancer

Thank you!

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: