Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

DFS testing - manual channels

In the video below Chuck talks about manually setting DFS channels for testing in environments.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C12htufdmzY&feature=youtu.be

 

I was wondering what the cli procedure (commands) for this would be and what commands would I use to monitor any changes. 

-Joey
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: DFS testing - manual channels

Hi,

You can configure cahnnels manually in the radio settings. To monitor you have arm history command - below is a dump from my IAP...

 

 

MK-IAP# show ap arm history

Interface :wifi0
ARM History
-----------
Time of Change Old Channel New Channel Old Power New Power Reason
-------------- ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ------
2015-11-10 21:14:22 124+ 124+ Max 21 P-
Interface :wifi1
ARM History
-----------
Time of Change Old Channel New Channel Old Power New Power Reason
-------------- ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ------
2015-11-11 21:47:21 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-11 16:58:13 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-11 16:24:59 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-11 15:45:27 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-11 15:21:19 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-11 14:22:43 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-11 13:52:52 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-11 12:56:33 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-11 12:39:40 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-11 07:09:12 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-10 23:31:24 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-10 23:03:33 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-10 22:39:43 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-10 22:04:01 1 11 18 18 I
2015-11-10 21:42:02 11 1 18 18 I
2015-11-10 21:14:24 11 11 Max 18 P-
I: Interference, R: Radar detection, N: Noise exceeded, Q: Bad Channel Quality E: Error threshold exceeded, INV: Invalid Channel, G: Rogue AP Containment, M: Empty Channel, P+: Increase Power, P-: Decrease Power, 40INT: 40MHZ intol detected on 2.4G, NO40INT: 40MHz intol cleared on 2.4G, OFF: Turn off Radio, ON: Turn on Radio

 

 

HTH,

Marek

Marek Krauze, CWNE# 174, ACMX #295, ACDX #356
Something cool, helpful or interesting in my post - click the Kudos Star.
Helped to solve your problem - Click Accept as Solution
Contributor II
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-02-2015

Re: DFS testing - manual channels

Do I need to disable ARM?

 

Wont ARM change the channel if it detects others?

Does this also mean that i'd need to create a radio-profile for each AP or channel/power setting to change channels efficiently?

-Joey
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 97
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: DFS testing - manual channels


playinpearls wrote:

Do I need to disable ARM? 

 

NO, why? 

 

Wont ARM change the channel if it detects others?

 

ARM is able to dynamically adapt to inetrferences, select the best channel and TX power, however Radar detection is completely different story

 

Does this also mean that i'd need to create a radio-profile for each AP or channel/power setting to change channels efficiently?

 

You can create list of desired channels or you can create manual configuration, sort of... 


Cheers, 

Marek Krauze, CWNE# 174, ACMX #295, ACDX #356
Something cool, helpful or interesting in my post - click the Kudos Star.
Helped to solve your problem - Click Accept as Solution
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,488
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: DFS testing - manual channels

Aruba APs were not meant to have static channels, so it can be done, but it takes a little work:

 

To manually set a DFS channel for an AP, first create a regulatory domain profile removing the regular channels then adding a single DFS channel, then configure it, using ap-specific:  Here is an example using channel 60:

 

ap regulatory-domain-profile "Channel60"
  no valid-11a-channel 36
  no valid-11a-channel 40
  no valid-11a-channel 48
  no valid-11a-channel 153
  no valid-11a-channel 157
  no valid-11a-channel 161
  no valid-11a-channel 165
  valid-11a-channel 60
!
ap-name "Kitchen-225"
  regulatory-domain-profile "Channel60"

If you apply that to an access point with ARM, it will only select the only channel in its regulatory domain.  In the specific configuration above, this will only work if you have the AP configured for 20 mhz channels.  You would have to choose a regulatory domain profile with 40mhz channel pairs if you want to test at 40mhz.

 

 

To see if the AP has had any DFS events, I would look for radar messages in the wireless log:

 

show log wireless 50
Aug 27 10:21:23 :404076:  <WARN> |AP Kitchen-225@10.99.154.29 sapd|  AM 18:64:72:fb:30:50: Radar detected on interface wifi0, channel 132, typeid 7
Aug 27 10:21:24 :404088:  <WARN> |AP Kitchen-225@10.99.154.29 sapd|  AM 18:64:72:fb:30:50: ARM HT Radar Detected Trigger Current Channel old 132E new 100E/6

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: