Wireless Access

Occasional Contributor II

Filtering local switched traffic in controller based solution??

Hi

I'm new to Aruba (been working with HP MSM for many years), and I'm in the proces of converting a MSM customer to Aruba. Due to many factors we wish to create a very simple MSM like solution where a central controller manages hundreds of AP's that are all doing Local switching. We do not wan't nor have the option of using tunneling of traffic.

But one major question arises: We have fairly large subnets with a large number of clients, and in MSM i could simply activate a wireless filter that restricted the wireless clients traffic (including broadcasts) to requests that reffered to the default gateway for the client (in effect Isolating the client completely in the Wired/Wireless  L2). 

Do I have the same option when running Aruba centrally controlled AP's in local switching mode? I know i can using Instant AP's, but that's not an option here either due to Instant size limitations.

Guru Elite

Re: Filtering local switched traffic in controller based solution??

The short answer is yes.

At a high level, you would configure a "bridged" Virtual AP, where instead of traffing being tunneled, it will be bridged out the ethernet interface of the AP.  You can decide what VLAN that traffic would be bridged to by entering the VLAN in the Virtual AP.  By default, VLAN besides 1 will be tagged out the interface, so that an access point on a trunk will send traffic to the tagged VLAN.  Lastly, you can configure a role for the user traffic, so that you can apply a firewall policy to the traffic bridged to the wired network that would say what the user traffic is allowed and not allowed to do.

I hope that makes sense.

Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Hi Colin