Wireless Access

Reply
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-25-2015

GRE & LMS Configuration for LACP

Hello everyone,

I am looking at enabling the secondary link on our AP-225s. The issue I am having is that after following the instructions in the below link it appears that I am still at a stand still. 

http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/ArubaOS_64x_WebHelp/Content/ArubaFrameStyles/AP_Config/LACP_Support_on_AP_220.htm

 

After assigning an AP profile with the AP System Profile with the GRE/LMS configured it constantly reboots and never creates a connection back to the controller. The AP is connected to a Juniper EX-3300 with the following configuration on both ports.

 

unit 0 {
family ethernet-switching {
port-mode trunk;
vlan {
members 10;
}
native-vlan-id 30;
}
}

 

Here is a sample of the addressing scheme for the LMS/GRE

 

192.168.11.38 : LMS

192.168.11.39 : GRE

192.168.11.40 : Controller 1

192.168.11.41 : Controller 2 (Future)

 

 

Let me know if you need anymore info. I appreciate any insight into my issue. :)

 

 

 

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,794
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: GRE

Your Juniper config doesn't show any reference to LAG/LACP being configured.

Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Aruba Employee
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎02-14-2013

Re: GRE & LMS Configuration for LACP

Hi, 

 

Did you configure LACP on the two switch (Juniper) ports where the AP is connected? 

 

Thanks, 

Rajaguru Vincent 

Thanks,
Rajaguru Vincent
CWNA | CWSP | CWAP | CWDP | ACMP
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-25-2015

Re: GRE

Hello Cappalli,

I was directed by a partner of ours that when using GRE/LMS then its not required to create the AE (LACP) partnership on the ports. However I will give it a shot. 

Guru Elite
Posts: 8,794
Registered: ‎09-08-2010

Re: GRE

LACP is mutual. It needs to be configured on both sides.


Tim Cappalli | Aruba Security TME
@timcappalli | timcappalli.me | ACMX #367 / ACCX #480
Occasional Contributor I
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-25-2015

Re: GRE

Alright I've gone through and reconfigured LACP for both ports to the following.

 

ge-0/0/2 {
ether-options {
802.3ad ae0;
}
}
ge-0/0/3 {
ether-options {
802.3ad ae0;
}
}
ae0 {
aggregated-ether-options {
lacp {
active;
}
}
unit 0 {
family ethernet-switching {
port-mode trunk;
vlan {
members 10;
}
native-vlan-id 30;
}
}

 

I am able to ping out and access remote subnets from the AP, but I dont show the AP up in the controller. I think I figured out why though. After looking at the logs I see I have the following message.

 

Feb 8 11:37:01 :311020:  <ERRS> |AP Test-AP@10.1.6.50 sapd|  An internal system error has occurred at file sapd_redun.c function sapd_check_rap_dhcp_pool line 4999 error sapd_check_rap_dhcp_pool: LMS and RAP-DHCP-Server on same subnet c0a80b00.

 

 I noticed the error when setting it on the controller and fixed it under the AP system profile for this AP Group. However, I haven't changed it on my other AP system profiles being used in other groups, so Im guessing this may still be causing a conflict. We dont use RAPs for anything at the moment, but I will have to wait to the end of day to make this change as these profiles are being used for a production enviroment at the moment. Let me know if I am on the right track or if I've lost my mind. Thanks for all your help.

 

 

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: