Wireless Access

Reply
MVP
Posts: 3,015
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

High cpu and mem utilization on AP

Is there a way to check this out?

I would like to know this becasue for example, a AP 135 got better cpu and memory, which will handle more clients than for example an AP 93 which got less cpu and memory.

 

I can check the porcentage of the channel utilization, to see if something is going wrong in there but what about the ap capacity? the hardware? is there is any way to see this?

 

On the controller or Airwave

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,517
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP

[ Edited ]
 show ap debug system-status ap-name Office-135 | begin CPU
CPU and Memory Usage
--------------------
Timestamp            CPU Util(%)  Memory Util(%)
---------            -----------  --------------
2013-12-19 18:57:29  2            24
2013-12-19 18:57:19  2            24
2013-12-19 18:57:09  2            24
2013-12-19 18:56:59  2            24
2013-12-19 18:56:48  2            24
2013-12-19 18:56:38  2            24
2013-12-19 18:56:28  2            24

Peak CPU Util in the last one hour
----------------------------------
Timestamp            CPU Util(%)  Memory Util(%)
---------            -----------  --------------
2013-12-19 18:53:28  9            24

 This is 6.3.

 

 Typically the medium, as in the RF is the bottleneck much sooner than the CPU would be.  The AP93 does not provide 3 streams or dual simultaneous radio capability in the first place, so it is limited by it's RF capability in the first place.  The AP135 does provide 3 stream capability with dual simultaneous radios, but it cannot provide access to 80 mhz channels like the AP225.  The circumstances would have to include many, many clients to tax the CPU.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 3,015
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP

Thanks Collin!

May i know the threhold? for the CPU and memory?

 

When i need to pay it attention??

 

A custumer is asking me this, ill do explain them what you just did but i would like to give them the answer to what they asked in first place anyways.

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,517
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP


NightShade1 wrote:

Thanks Collin!

May i know the threhold? for the CPU and memory?

 

When i need to pay it attention??

 

A custumer is asking me this, ill do explain them what you just did but i would like to give them the answer to what they asked in first place anyways.

 

Cheers

Carlos


It is very far down on the list of things that we would even look at.  It is not something a customer should be concerned with because unless it is a bug, the RF is an issue much, much sooner.  CPUs go up and down and sometimes they are temporarily high; in those circumstances, TAC is trained to collect that data and determine if that is the issue.  I typically would not tell customers to monitor something when other things are the problem much sooner that they should focus on.  I do not know what the threshold is and we rely on engineering through TAC to tell us what is high or not.

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 3,015
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP

So you think they should put just attention the Channel utilization? 

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,517
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP


NightShade1 wrote:

So you think they should put just attention the Channel utilization? 

 

Cheers

Carlos


Absolutely.  Whatever is on the Dashboard page is what is important.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

MVP
Posts: 3,015
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP

Collin

Thank you very much for your wise advice :)

 

Cheers

Carlos

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
Guru Elite
Posts: 21,517
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: High cpu and mem utilization on AP

Nightshade1,

 

That is the ONLY advice.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: