Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Hi, I have had the VIA client up and running for a while. After I reconfigured the network I am not able to connect with VIA clients. (I have downloaded the new clients, but it still does not work).

  I can’t find any information about what happen in the log on the controller. The VIA client comes up with ERR 410 and a message: Virtual Adapter could not be enabled. How can I find out what is happening?:smileyfrustrated:

 

Tom C.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,588
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Did the problem start happening after you reconfigured the network?  What was done?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-21-2012

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Tom,

 

Is this on MAC or Windows (and if so is it XP, Vista or 7?)  Can you post the logs from the client? I had a number of issues when I set mine up so I can give you a few places to look.

 

Robert

Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

 The controller was sitting behind our FW and a main router. Then our FW died. Since our most important data systems resides in the clouds the Internet connection is crucial for us. So I reconfigured the WLAN controller and used it as FW as well. At the same time the VIA client stopped working. Now I have put in a new FW and set the controller back to be a normal controller.

While configuring the controller to be a FW I have probably chanced something that affected the VIA client. But I am not able to find out what it is. Especially when I am not able to able to troubleshoot the client either.      

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,588
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Let's start from scratch:

What ports are you allowing in on the Firewall? 

 

For the Windows VIA clients alone you need https (TCP443) and NAT-T (UDP 4500)

 

For MAC clients you need IKE (UDP 500), NAT-T (UDP 4500), ESP (IP protocol 50), L2TP  (udp 1701),  and PPTP (TCP 1723)

 

On the commandline of the controller, you should first see if there are any incoming TCP 443, or UDP 4500connections:

 

"show datapath session table | include 443"

 

"show datapath session table | include 4500"

 

If you do not see any output, you have to fix the controller/firewall relationship.


 

 

 

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Hi I'm not able to post the log's from the client. The zip'ed file that the client sends are corrupt. It is not possible to open it. :-(

 

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,588
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Since it was a firewall change, that is probably what you need to focus on, first....

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Contributor I
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎01-26-2012

Re: How to troubleshoot a VIA problem?

Hi, the PC did not try to connect to the controller at all. So I deleted the “VIA Connection Profile” and configured a new one. Deleted the VIA SW and reinstalled it from scratch, on the PC. Then it worked. :smileyhappy:

 

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: