Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Problems getting RAP to connect to controller when RAP is on a separate NAT'd network

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Problems getting RAP to connect to controller when RAP is on a separate NAT'd network

Posted Jan 03, 2014 09:36 AM

Hello,

I have an IAP3WN/P that I am attempting to convert into a RAP for use at home offices. I have a local and master controller at my head office running ArubaOS 6.2.1.4.

When I convert the IAP into a RAP when connected to our internal network (where the controllers reside, so no NAT or firewalls inbetween the RAP and the master controller), the RAP fires up without any problem, picks up the role specified in our RAP whitelist and all looks good. During the RAP conversion I used the master controllers internal IP address (where we have the RAP configured and whitelsited) .

From all of this, I can begin to assume that (at least some) of my configation is correct, as when no firewalls or NAT is in place all, seems to work perfectly.

Now, here's my problem - When I connect the RAP to an external network and try to convert from IAP to RAP using a publically routable address which is NAT'ed and firewalled to allow access to my internal network's master controller, after the converstion, the RAP will not come online. I have allowed UDP 4500 from this address to the controller. During the conversion, it looks as if the IAP successfully communicates with the controller, but atfer the conversion, the AP will not come online.

To me, this seems like I have some sort of configuration problem with my Firewall or NAT, or even my RAP config. To troubleshoot this a little more, I began a packet capture of what the RAP was trying to do as it fails to come online.