Wireless Access

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Questions about using VisualRF to model APs in a large Warehouse

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Questions about using VisualRF to model APs in a large Warehouse

Posted Jul 23, 2013 02:43 PM

Greetings,

I am trying to create a design for installing APs in a large warehouse.  I have never tried to do this for a warehouse before.  I see that the true downtilt APs are 105s, 135s, and 225s.  I am modeling 105s and 135s.

In this location the ceiling is 10 meters high, and the dimensions of the space are approximately 400' x 1,000'.  We are able to run Cat5/6 cabling to all APs so we don't need to Mesh.  I need to provide support for a/g/n clients, including the motorola handhelds which have a max output of about 20 dBm. 

In practicing with VisualRF, there is a dramatic affect in moving the Environmental Slider back and forth.  I am unsure whether to place it farther to the left for more open space, or farther to the right for more walled space to account for the shelving and stored items.  Dependig on which way I go, it changes from predicting maybe 26 APs for this space, to maybe 340 total APs ( all when designing around a -70 signal strength.)

I have read the VRDs, the stuff by Chuck Lukaszewski, and that Barcelona report.

So I guess my questions are,

1)  Is there a Best Practice for where to set the slider bar for space allocation for VisualRF warehouse design?

2)  Is there a Best Practice for designing around coverage speed vs signal?

3)  Should I scrap VisualRF and just put an AP 105 every 75-80 feet down the first row, then skip a rows while alternating or staggering the AP locations on the remaining rows till done?

Thank you in advance,

William

• 2.  RE: Questions about using VisualRF to model APs in a large Warehouse