Wireless Access

Reply
Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-23-2011

Radio profiles 40mhz

 I'm sure this has bad idea written all over it but

 

Think it be off any help to have 2 radio profiles in the same building. If I built two groups, for one building with one profile uses 20mhz the other 40.

 

I read the wlan professional stress test report that showed ipad performance did considerably better operating on 40mhz channels.

 

Most of our guests who only are located on the first floor of a building use Ipads, Users are located on the upper floor of the building

 

I'm aware that the client chooses wherever it wants to authenticate to but

 

The hope is the guests associate to the First floor APs operating on 40mhz while network users located above associate to 20mhz aps.

 

Would it just wreak havoc, and create coverage holes?

MVP
Posts: 4,232
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: Radio profiles 40mhz

 

It all depends on how you have your APs distributed in the building because if you have a very dense deployment bonding channels may not be a good idea.

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 1,401
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

Re: Radio profiles 40mhz

[ Edited ]

Hi,

Good evening,

You might want to create different AP-groups to the AP'S located on the ipad /guest floor (lobby). (and config different 20/40mhz configuration in each AP-group)

 

Just be aware  :robotindifferent: - the usage of 40Mhz recommend in 5Ghz..

In 2.4Ghz sometimes it doing to opposite. (killing the Signal with a lot of Noise...)

 

regards.

 

Me

*****************2Plus Wireless Solutions****************************
Aruba Airheads - Powered By community for empower the community
************ Don't Forget to Kudos + me,If i helped you******************
MVP
Posts: 2,954
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Radio profiles 40mhz

Why do you want to do this?

 

Why not leaving it on if the device is cabpable of 40mhz then they willl connect to it, if its not then it wont...

Just remenber to turn it on just only on 5ghz channels, do not do that on 2.4ghz channel...

----------------------------------------------------
Product Manager - Aruba Networks
Alternetworks Corp
MVP
Posts: 1,401
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

Re: Radio profiles 40mhz

[ Edited ]

I agree with NightShade1
yep.That what I wrote also..
It's better not to use 40mhz channels in 2.4ghz spectrum
quote:
Just be aware :robotindifferent: - the usage of 40Mhz recommend in 5Ghz..

In 2.4Ghz sometimes it doing to opposite. (killing the Signal with a lot of Noise...)


**it will effect preformence in 2.4ghz..will make a lot of noise,and you will not have a lot of non-overlapping channels to choose from  |   In High density Wi-Fi deployment or office building deployment/multi floors deployments.**:smileysurprised:
--------------------------------------

This picture will explain you - why it's better not to use 40mhz in 2.4ghz spectrum:

original.jpg

 

To summarize everything:

If u have 2 radio modules AP .Just config the ARM / SSID profile to support band steering , and also confirm that the use of 40mhz is for 5ghz spectrum only.

 

*****************2Plus Wireless Solutions****************************
Aruba Airheads - Powered By community for empower the community
************ Don't Forget to Kudos + me,If i helped you******************
Contributor I
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-23-2011

Re: Radio profiles 40mhz

And I have been humbled. Thanks for the replies, didn't even think about just using it just on 5GHz, guess that's why I'm a occasional contributor and your the MVP's.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: