Wireless Access

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

I think it should be a configure problem, any hint will be helpful, thanks alot.

 

It is one of the 16 S1524  I recently installed in one shopping mall. All switches have the same poe profile configued. show poe interface command give the following output

GE0/0/0
-------
GE0/0/0: Administratively Enable, Port status: Off
Maximum power: 30000 mW, Power consumption: 0 mW
Port voltage: 0 mV, Port current: 0 mA
PD class: Class-0, Priority: Low, PSE port status: Off, PD detection in progress


GE0/0/1
-------
GE0/0/1: Administratively Enable, Port status: Off
Maximum power: 30000 mW, Power consumption: 0 mW
Port voltage: 0 mV, Port current: 0 mA
PD class: Class-4, Priority: Low, PSE port status: off, (code=24)

 ge0/0/0 didn't connect to device, while ge0/0/1 connnected to a 115 AP

It seems to me that the S1524 has communicated to the AP, and decided that it's a Class-4 device, but due to some reason, it didn't power it. and What does the "code=24 " mean?

There are 18 APs connected to it, all of them are not powered.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,018
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

What how is your POE profile configured?

 



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

Can you provide the output of "show inventory" and "show poe controller"?

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

part of poe-profile

interface-profile poe-profile "default"
!
interface-profile poe-profile "poe-factory-initial"
   enable

 how it is applied to port

interface-group gigabitethernet "Access"
   apply-to 0/0/0-0/0/23
   lldp-profile "lldp-on"
   poe-profile "poe-factory-initial"
   switching-profile "Access"
!
interface-group gigabitethernet "default"
   apply-to ALL
   lldp-profile "lldp-factory-initial"
   poe-profile "poe-factory-initial"
!

All 16 switches have the same configuration with regard to  this part.

In the first several days after I had installed it, this switch had no problem. Last week, when I occasionally logged into the AC, I noticed that APs on this switch is down and then came back in 10-20 minutes. Maybe it is indeed a hardware failure.

I will post the output of show inventory later when I have access to the switch.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

show inventory

#show inventory

Show Inventory
--------------


System Card Slot        : 0
SC Serial #             : 
SC Model Name           : ArubaS1500-24P
HW MAC Addr             : 
CPLD Version            : (Rev: 28)
PoE Firmware Version    : 2.4.8 (Build: 48)
CPU Assembly #          : 
CPU Serial #            : 
Power Supply            : Present (580W)
                        : 12V System Voltage Ok
                        : 56V PoE Voltage Ok
System Temperature      : CPU Temp                : 47  C
                        : Mid Temp                : 45  C
                        : DPE Temp                : 54  C
                        : Ambient Temp            : 24  C
System Voltages         : 12000mV Sense           : 12062.5 mV
                        : 5000mV 5VDD             : 5000.0 mV
                        : 3300mV Sense            : 3300.0 mV
                        : 900mV CPU               : 935.5 mV
System Fan Tachometers  : Power Supply Fan 0      : 3901  RPM (Low Speed)
                        : Power Supply Fan 1      : 3918  RPM (Low Speed)
                        : FAN 0                   : 3474  RPM (Low Speed)
                        : FAN 1                   : 3379  RPM (Low Speed)

 show poe controller

#show poe controller

Linecard  PowerBudget(W)  Power Consumption(W)  GuardBand(mW)  PoE Management
--------  --------------  --------------------  -------------  --------------
0         400             0                     11000          Dynamic

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

Last Friday, I replaced the "broken" switch with a new one, reconnect all the wire. The switch did power all the APs one the initial boot. Then I pasted the configure to the switch, reloaded it and left.

This afternoon, I came back and found that the new switch didn't power the APs either.

 

This time I have plenty of time, so I did some more test.

1. boot from another partition with older firmware. (Not help, I finally succeeded with the "original" newer image)

2. write erase all, then reload. (Seems not help)

3. In initial setup, change the country code to US instead of CN (Seems not help)

4. There is one port connected to an old switch owned by customer, but I don't know it's brand and type. After reload, waiting for a while, with all copper wire unplugged except the one connected to the customer's switch, I unplugged the last one and then plugged the wire which connected to an AP on my hand,  the red led flashed on the AP immediately, the led on switch port began to blink. I plugged another wire which connected to an AP on site, waiting a little longer, the switch port led blinked too. I connected all the wire, all aps were  powered. I reloaded the switch, all aps were powered soon after the user prompt appeared.

 

I can not repeat the problem again, at least in this afternoon. No matter whether I plug the wire connecting to the old switch or not, all aps can be powered after reload.

 

I clean the configure file a little after all this

1. I erased the configuration and restore the configure with necessary command only, not just paste all stuff in the backup configure file

2. Execute "Poe-profile "default"" in "interface-group gigabitethernet "default""

3. In "interface-group gigabitethernet "Access"", excluded the port connected to the old switch. So it is admin disabled on Poe.

 

I'm not sure that it's me who make the switch work again, or the switch just recovery by itself. I will update this post if I run into this problem again.

Aruba
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎05-30-2012

Re: S1524 not power the 115 APs connected to it

Sanborn,

I'm glad you got things up an running again.

 

I did speak with Engineering and they have indicated that "(code=24)" indicates that we're recieving voltage inbound to the switch through the ethernet port. If possible at some point in the future, could you find out what this third party switch was? Also on what swithport?

 

Best regards,

 

Madani

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: