Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I

User Role Vlan Change

Hello, I have an aruba 7210 running 6.2.1.2.  I need to change the VLAN a user role is assigned to move to a larger vlan.  What impact will the change have?  If i make the change what happens to the users who are currently connected? It will be a different IP space.  Ideally i would like it to be non disruptive so that currently connected users stay connected till they disconnect on their own and then when they reconnect they get put into the new VLAN, but i am guessing that is not possible.  I would love to use a VLAN pool but as i discovered in my post yesterday, that wont work till software 6.3. Let me know if i need to clarify anything.  Thanks!

Guru Elite

Re: User Role Vlan Change

There WILL be a disruption and the clients will not know they are on a different VLAN, so their traffic will not go anywhere.  Schedule a window and do a "aaa user delete all" and they will all return in a few minutes.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I

Re: User Role Vlan Change

 I did not know about the delete all so that will be helpfull.  Thank you.

Guru Elite

Re: User Role Vlan Change

You execute that AFTER your change the VLAN, so that all users are kicked off...



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Search Airheads
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: