Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

VIA VPN client question...

Is it possible for the latest version of the VIA client to contain more than one connection profile? For multiple different sites?

Thanks for any input!

Scott McNeil - IT Specialist, Global Process Automation
Network+ | CWNA | CWTS | ACSP | ACMP | ACMA | BREC
MVP
Posts: 992
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: VIA VPN client question...

You can only have 1 active connection profile in VIA, however you can have multiple servers within a connection profile.

 

conn.jpg

 

Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: VIA VPN client question...

So you cannot add multiple destinations to the client its self? I would like to be able to access site A in North Carolina, then later, using the same client, access site B in South Carolina and maybe tomorrow connect to site C in Virginia. Make sense? So it would need to have a profile for each location and when I fired up the app it should give me a choice of which profile I would like to use.

 

Can VIA do that?

Scott McNeil - IT Specialist, Global Process Automation
Network+ | CWNA | CWTS | ACSP | ACMP | ACMA | BREC
MVP
Posts: 4,301
Registered: ‎07-20-2011

Re: VIA VPN client question...

[ Edited ]

You can define several connection profiles but the user will need to switch to another profile manually.

Keep in mind that if the other profiles are pointing to standalone controller you have to make sure that all the settings match (connection profile, auth profile ,user-role ,etc..)

Thank you

Victor Fabian
Lead Mobility Engineer @ Integration Partners
AMFX | ACMX | ACDX | ACCX | CWAP | CWDP | CWNA
MVP
Posts: 992
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: VIA VPN client question...

Here's screenshots of what thsi looks like:

 

2017-02-03 14_15_29-L3 Authentication.jpg

2017-02-03 14_15_38-L3 Authentication.jpg

 

2017-02-03 14_15_59-Virtual Access Network.jpg

 

Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Frequent Contributor II
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎09-14-2011

Re: VIA VPN client question...

Okay, so you cannot add additional locations to the client its self, you have to add them from a controller connection. Correct?

Scott McNeil - IT Specialist, Global Process Automation
Network+ | CWNA | CWTS | ACSP | ACMP | ACMA | BREC
MVP
Posts: 992
Registered: ‎04-13-2009

Re: VIA VPN client question...

All configuration is done on the controller. All the client can do is choose between different servers if multiple have been configured in the connection profile as described.
Cheers
James

-------------------------------------------------------
-------------------@whereisjrw-------------------
------------------------blog-------------------------
ACCX #540 | ACMX #353 | ACDX #216
-----------Mobility First Expert #11----------
-------------------------------------------------------

If a reply adequately addresses your issue, please click on the "Accept as Solution" and "Give Kudos" button so this information can benefit other users via search.
Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: