Wireless Access

Reply
Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

I have two controllers (3600 cluster + 7005 standalone) and I've seen the webUI become completely unresponsive on both of them each once since I my most recent upgrades (to versions 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12).  They have slightly different versions since I upgraded them at different times.

 

Both times, restarting the web service in the CLI corrected the issue.  I posted about this before and was told to put in a ticket, but I never got around to it since I never saw the issue again until now (on a different controller).

 

Anyone else seen this happen?  Is it a known issue?

 

Thanks!

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

mmartin,

 

Not really.  A whole host of things could be going on, that support should be able to examine.  It would take too long to go down the long list of things that could be going on, that is why it is more efficient to contact support.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

Alright - I will this time.  I just have poor experience with Aruba Support and you seem to be able to resolve every issue efficiently on this message board, so I try to avoid them when I can =)

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

Support has the advantage of being able to take specific information from you, while on this forum, we are just guessing without specific information.  We also focus on the top 10 ways users break their networks or go wrong vs. support which is more forgiving.

 

Someone can still come along and give you the information you need about your issue above.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

By the way the #1 reason why the webui would freeze is that your browser does not have enough horsepower to render the javascript-heavy page.  Restarting the webserver is a blunt force way of "solving" the problem, but it is not guaranteed that the web server will restart, once it is shut.  You coul be playing with fire.



Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

It's not an issue of freezing while in use.  On an initial load, it will not respond.  The page stays white/blank and the wheels turn.  The browser eventually says it timed out.  This is across all machines, admins, browsers, etc. when it happens.  For example, today, an admin reported the issue to me and I checked from my machine and saw the issue.  I switched from my linux box to my windows machine (from a different network) - same issue.

 

Sorry for the confusion - the process hangs completely, not the browser.

Guru Elite
Posts: 21,269
Registered: ‎03-29-2007

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

...is a great reason to open a support case...


Colin Joseph
Aruba Customer Engineering

Looking for an Answer? Search the Community Knowledge Base Here: Community Knowledge Base

Frequent Contributor I
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-10-2015

Re: Version 6.4.2.10 & 6.4.2.12 WebUI Unresponsive

[ Edited ]

Just to update for anyone with the same issue who might find this thread:

 

Support said to run 'process restart httpd core' instead of 'process restart httpd' next time to avoid the generation of a crash file on the controller.

 

They also said to collect the output of 'show process monitor statistics' and tech support logs while the issue is occuring next time and wanted to put the ticket on hold while I wait for the issue to occur again.  I had them close it since it's only happened once each on two different controllers over the course of 4-6 months.

Search Airheads
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: