Wireless Access

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Voice over WiFi improvement

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Voice over WiFi improvement

Posted Jul 26, 2012 04:20 PM

I am a Grad student at the University of Texas, McCombs School of Business, Master of Science in Technology Commercialization. I am researching the use of voice over WiFi in an attempt to determine if a new technology will be useful in the wifi market and was hoping that you experts would be able to help. This new technology is a software only optimization solution that has to be deployed at the access-point and the mobile client and can significantly improve the VoIP call capacity. Using both simulations and real-life prototypes they have validated their solution and include frame aggregation, block acknowledgements, and intelligent rate adaptation. My team is trying to determine if there is a need for such a technology and would this technology be useful to hardware manufactures of access points and mobile clients. Below are a few questions to get us started and I’m sure I’ll have more as we discuss this topic.

1. What are the maximum amounts of calls that can be sent over one access point?
    2. Is there a pain in the market with the amount of calls that currently can be sent over one access point?
    3. Would the market accept a technology that would allow more calls to be sent over one access point?
    4. If an access point could provide more calls can the network handle the additional users?

• 2.  RE: Voice over WiFi improvement

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jul 28, 2012 02:00 PM